Yesterday, 07:29

An anti-fracking campaign group says the vast majority of people it has spoken to do not want to see the process happen in the South West.

Yesterday, 06:24

Plans to increase the size of a Premier Inn hotel have been turned down by the council.

Sunday, August 19, 2018

A second bidder keen to run a new primary school will unveil its plans at a public event next month.

Friday, August 17, 2018

A man required 30 stitches after sustaining a serious injury in an assault while waiting for a taxi in Weston-super-Mare town centre.

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Sidcot School’s headteacher has praised his students’ achievements after they picked up their A-level results this morning (Thursday).

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

More than 100 people were caught behind the wheel after taking drugs or consuming too much alcohol during a police crackdown.

Sunday, August 12, 2018

Plans for almost 100 homes have been approved by Sedgemoor District Council.

Saturday, August 11, 2018

A village rugby club which has been running for 50 years faces a difficult future if the club does not sell to a housing developer, according to its chairman.

Saturday, August 11, 2018

Homeopathy treatments prescribed on the NHS are to be stopped in North Somerset to save money.

Friday, August 10, 2018

A missing Weston-super-Mare man has not been seen for more than a fortnight, prompting police to renew their appeal for anyone with information to come forward.

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

With the Bristol International Balloon Fiesta almost ready to take the West Country by storm again, have you ever wanted to know what it is like to fly one?

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

A rider was treated by paramedics on the beach after her horse kicked her in the chest and face leaving her injured in the water.

Tuesday, August 7, 2018

The following cases were heard at North Somerset Courthouse from May 23 to June 6.

Monday, August 6, 2018

Plans for a new GP surgery are being altered to make it look ‘more rural’.

Monday, August 6, 2018

Millions of pounds are to be spent on upgrading Weston’s road network.

Friday, August 3, 2018

Police are hunting for a man who is wanted on recall to prison.

Thursday, August 2, 2018

A car towing a caravan has overturned on the M5 approaching Weston-super-Mare.

Tuesday, July 31, 2018

The following cases were heard at North Somerset Courthouse from May 16-23.

Monday, July 30, 2018

Hundreds of homeowners have received an apology after being left without gas for much of the weekend.

Friday, July 27, 2018

Two men will represent Yatton with a World War One-inspired pilgrimage to France and Belgium.

Friday, July 27, 2018

Weston-super-Mare’s main swimming pool has been closed this morning (Friday) but is due to reopen this afternoon.

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Firefighters and the coastguard were called out to rescue a cow which got stuck in a river.

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

A new batch of police community support officers (PCSOs) could soon be out on North Somerset’s streets.

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

The following court cases were heard at North Somerset Courthouse from May 9-16.

Monday, July 23, 2018

Thousands of people may unknowingly have a sexual-transmitted bug.

Sunday, July 22, 2018

A farming family say they understand villagers’ concerns over potential plans to build 90 homes in Yatton.

Sunday, July 22, 2018

A former factory faces being bulldozed to make way for 77 new homes.

Saturday, July 21, 2018

Almost £4million more will be invested in mental health services across the West of England.

Friday, July 20, 2018

Love Island contestant Dani Dyer will be appearing at a club night in Weston-super-Mare next month.

Thursday, July 19, 2018

A public meeting will be held tonight (Thursday) over plans to open a school in Yatton.

Most Read News

Read Online

Image
Read the Weston Worle and Somerset Mercury e-edition E-edition

Local Weather

Overcast

Overcast

max temp: 19°C

min temp: 18°C

Useful Links

Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Subscribe to the paper
Competitions
Send Your Letters
Order Photos
Family notices
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Newsletter Sign Up

Weston Mercury twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Show Job Lists