Library story sessions for World Book Day

PUBLISHED: 11:00 22 February 2018 | UPDATED: 11:00 22 February 2018

Winscombe Primary School pupils reading for pleasure.

Winscombe Primary School pupils reading for pleasure.

Archant

Free story sessions are running at libraries across North Somerset to celebrate World Book Day.

Families and children from schools and preschools are invited to enjoy some Bookstart Rhymetime sessions on March 1.

World Book Day’s focus this year is on sharing stories and the importance of reading with children.

Sessions will take place in Weston Library, in the town hall, at 9.30am, in Winscombe Library at 9.15am and Yatton Library, in High Street, at 2.30pm.

Children, who must be accompanied by an adult, can dress up as their favourite book character for the event.

Cllr Felicity Baker, North Somerset Council’s executive member for libraries, said: “Our libraries have so much for children and families to discover, and we want to encourage them to enjoy sharing stories together.

“Spending just 10 minutes a day reading and sharing stories with children can make a crucial difference to their outcome and it’s fun for all involved. You can read together anywhere and everywhere, from breakfast to bedtime.”

For more about World Book Day and tips on how to share stories, visit www.worldbookday.com

More from Weston Mercury

19:41

Police have cordoned off Worle Railway Station for an ongoing police incident this evening (Thursday).

Read more
20:00

Fans of Abba and Grease can enjoy two hours of their greatest hits at The Playhouse on November 29.

Read more
The Playhouse Weston-super-Mare

Life satisfaction and happiness levels have dropped in North Somerset in the past year, according to research from the Office for National Statistics.

Read more

Avon and Somerset Constabulary has reassured people a teenager did not die in Worle last night (Wednesday) after rumours circulated on social media.

Read more

Weston-super-Mare’s first balloon launch and ‘night glow’ which was due to take place on Saturday, has been postponed due to poor weather conditions.

Read more

Future bids for fracking to take place across North Somerset should be decided by the authority and not the Government, according to councillors.

Read more

A ‘spectacular’ firework display will take place on Marine Parade on Saturday.

Read more

A woman has been injured after colliding with a car in Weston this morning (Thursday).

Read more

A Priory Community School (PCSA) teacher has been cooking up tasty treats on a national cooking television programme.

Read more

An accident involving two cars in Worle has resulted in slow moving traffic this morning (Thursday).

Read more

Most Read News

Read Online

Image
Read the Weston Worle and Somerset Mercury e-edition E-edition

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 14°C

min temp: 12°C

Useful Links

Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Subscribe to the paper
Competitions
Send Your Letters
Order Photos
Family notices
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Newsletter Sign Up

Weston Mercury twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Show Job Lists