Free electric blanket testing in Burnham

PUBLISHED: 17:00 02 December 2010

The electric blanket testing session is free of charge

The electric blanket testing session is free of charge

Archant

AS THE cold winter temperatures continue, Burnham residents will have an opportunity to have their electric blankets tested by firefighters.

Devon and Somerset Fire Service are offering a free session in Burnham fire station on December 15 to test for faults such as loose connections, damaged plugs or worn fabric.

Community safety officer Carol Frances said: “In previous years, 40 per cent of all blankets we have tested have failed the checks.

“Faulty electric blankets can cause serious fires, but these can be prevented by taking the right precautions and having them tested.”

To book an appointment, call 01823 365365.

More from Weston Mercury

Yesterday, 19:41

Police have cordoned off Worle Railway Station for an ongoing police incident this evening (Thursday).

Read more
Yesterday, 20:00

Fans of Abba and Grease can enjoy two hours of their greatest hits at The Playhouse on November 29.

Read more
The Playhouse Weston-super-Mare
Yesterday, 16:57

Life satisfaction and happiness levels have dropped in North Somerset in the past year, according to research from the Office for National Statistics.

Read more
Yesterday, 16:06

A ‘spectacular’ firework display will take place on Marine Parade on Saturday.

Read more
Yesterday, 14:14

Avon and Somerset Constabulary has reassured people a teenager did not die in Worle last night (Wednesday) after rumours circulated on social media.

Read more
Yesterday, 13:04

Weston-super-Mare’s first balloon launch and ‘night glow’ which was due to take place on Saturday, has been postponed due to poor weather conditions.

Read more
Yesterday, 12:27

Future bids for fracking to take place across North Somerset should be decided by the authority and not the Government, according to councillors.

Read more
Yesterday, 09:37

A woman has been injured after colliding with a car in Weston this morning (Thursday).

Read more
Yesterday, 08:58

A Priory Community School (PCSA) teacher has been cooking up tasty treats on a national cooking television programme.

Read more
Yesterday, 07:56

An accident involving two cars in Worle has resulted in slow moving traffic this morning (Thursday).

Read more

Most Read News

Read Online

Image
Read the Weston Worle and Somerset Mercury e-edition E-edition

Local Weather

Overcast

Overcast

max temp: 14°C

min temp: 8°C

Useful Links

Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Subscribe to the paper
Competitions
Send Your Letters
Order Photos
Family notices
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Newsletter Sign Up

Weston Mercury twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Show Job Lists