Awards results for Kings students

MORE than 700 people packed into a hall in Cheddar for an annual awards presentation. The 31st Kings of Wessex School Awards Evening was held on September 13 and was attended by prize winners, parents and staff.

MORE than 700 people packed into a hall in Cheddar for an annual awards presentation.

The 31st Kings of Wessex School Awards Evening was held on September 13 and was attended by prize winners, parents and staff.

This year's event saw more than 250 awards presented for academic achievement, 100 per cent attendance, excellent work experience placements and contributions to school life.

Entertainment was provided by the school's Big Band, who played Aint Misbehaving and Fly Me to the Moon.

You may also want to watch:

Headteacher Chris Richardson said: "It was a very enjoyable evening and I was delighted to see so many of our students presented with awards. They are a tribute to themselves, their parents and staff."

List of Award Winners

Most Read

Tutor Awards

Year 9

9EHE - Dean Thompson - Kayleigh Skittrall

9JR - James Alexander - Bethany Bloodworth

9MB - James Soffe - Megan Chick

9CA - Matthew Salmon - Hannah Shaw

9DP - Daniel Burns - Lucy Stephens

9TP - Alex Hicks - Georgia Madsen

9SJ - George Shelley - Holly Freemantle

9KS - Joseph Perry - Katie Hood

9LD - Thomas Haggerty - Vickie Ferguson

9CED - William Plummer - Ashlee John

Year 10

10DE - Cameron Crook - Chloe Caple

10PA - Ciaran Worcester - Maddi Wrench

10SJO - Matthew Fotheringham - Hannah Meadowcroft

10SG - Ryan Tanner - Sarah Weigold

10DPW - Jack Nicholls - Emma Smith

10AT - George Booth - Lois Picton

10GL - Joshua Udall - Madeline Cottrell

10ML - Ben Ferguson - Joanna Frost

10EC - Harry Brunsdon - Rebecca Male

10SS - Ben Peverall - Laura Pavey

10NR - Alex Peebles-Brown - Flora Emeney

Year 11

11ER - Jason Eke - Charlotte Andrews

11RW - Tom Stanley - Faye Aston

11DR - Sam Coles - Holly Crompton

11IS - Tom Boobyer - Erica Schroeder

11JG - Craig Gowan - Nicola Tanner

11ALF - Sandy Shaban - Joanne Kidner

11FS - Brendon Ware - Sally Kitching

11VP - James Elliott - Trisandhya Trott

11GC - Jon Talbot - Hannah Gooding

11FP - Torran Purchase - Bethany Moxey

11SBA - Joel Hemmings - Harriet Stevens

100 per cent attendance 2006-2007

Thomas Broom

Henry Cakebread

Mark Davies

Aisling O'Brien

Alexander Parnell

Joseph Perry

Daisy Robinson-Rattle

Subject Awards: Awarded for the greatest effort and progress

Year 9 Subject Awards

Art - Daniel Albone

Biology - Paul Jarvis

Chemistry - Hannah Puddy

Citizenship - Oliver Crandon

Design Technology - Nathan Smith

Drama - Abbey Woolway

English - Mimi Bygrave

French - Edward Clist

Geography - Lucy Cornish

German - Bethany Robinson

History - Anna Spanring

ICT - Alice Gilling

Learning Support - Jo Gordon

Mathematics - Nick Bamber

Music - Tom Bridgwater

Physical Education - Hannah Wilson

Physics - Brent Stewart

R.E. - Laura Cussons

Year 10 Subject Awards

Art - Isabella Podpadec

Biology - Jonathan Holt

Business Studies - Maddie Ventour-Page

Chemistry - Samantha Chinnock

Child Development - Danielle Emery

Citizenship - Tom Grant

Design Technology - Rosie Page

Drama - Henry McGinty

English - Jenny Gowan

French - Priyanka Singhal

Geography - Nicola Atkin

German - Joanne Howe

History - William Manners

ICT - Mike Turner

Learning Support - Kevin Churches

Mathematics - Joseph Cowell

Music - Joe Harris

Physical Education - Josh O'Shaughnessy

Physics - Alex Parnell

R.E. - Olivia Hoyle

Work Experience Awards

An excellent week of work experience in Year 10

Holly Pike and Ben Virgo

Year 9 Awards For High Achievement

Excellent achievement in the Key Stage 3 SAT examination

Tom Bridgwater

Simone Bygrave

Steven Dixon

Harriet Gittings

Katie Hood

Rebecca Pinn

Hannah Puddy

Bethany Robinson

Daisy Robinson-Rattle

Arne Scott

James Soffe

Abbie Sweeting

Eve Taschimowitz

GCSE Awards For High Achievement

Students achieving over ten grade A*/A's in this summer's GCSE examinations:

Maxwell Ash

Thomas Day

Lucy Fenton

Eleanor Gall

Iain Haggerty

Siobhan Newton

Elizabeth Rabbitts

Jonathan Talbot

Emma Weight

Paul Young

Awards For High Achievement

Students who made outstanding progress from Key Stage 3 to 4 in this summer's GCSE examinations:

Hannah Bates

Charles Day

David Ferguson

Connie Green

Freya Gruffydd-Jones

Jack Hicks

Joshua Hole

Daniel Hughes

Joseph Kay

Siobhan Newton

AS Awards For High Achievement

Achieving three to five grade A's in this summer's AS examinations:

Samuel Bird

Harry Briffitt

Laura Carter

Alexander Conroy-Elen Davies

Elizabeth Freeman

Lily Mason Fraser McQueen

Bethan Meadowcroft

Bethany Morgan

Christopher Nash

Sophie Ross

Jennifer Scott

Jonathan Smith

Naomi Taschimowitz

Bethan Tucker

Daniel Ward

Erica Padfield Award for High Achievement at A-Level

Achieving four grade A's in this summer's 'A' Level examinations:

Sarah Bollard

Elizabeth Cooke

Richard Fay

Alistair Haggerty

Frances Rabbitts

Achieving three Grade A's in this summer's 'A' Level examinations:

Samuel Bretherton

Harriet Cripps

Catherine Harding

Samuel Jones

Tamsin Key

Clare Macaulay

Alena Richards

Matthew Skuse

David Smart

Gemma Tidman

Thomas Young

Special Awards

Richard Cox Gough Award for Girls' Sport (Deanes Award)- Naomi Taschimowitz

Ryder Cup for Boys' Sport (Deanes Award) - Shane Fear

Peter Reeve Cup for Best Footballer - Ja'Mahl McMurran

Lindsay Textiles Award - Sabina Savage

Maple Leaf Cup for Art - Margot Cook

Richard Barnes Drama Cup - Luke Wilson

Best Actor Award - Philip Lee

Best Actress Award - Lucy Plummer

Jubilee Baton for Music - Bethany Morgan

Suzanne Wallis Cup for Music - Tom Day

Richard Chinn Music Shield - Mark Goddard

Tim Bailey Cup for Music - Alex Bennetts, Ben Virgo and Luke Wilson

Arnold Hill Cup for R.E. - Helen Taylor

Gesamtschule Felsberg German Award -Richard Fay

French Award - Gemma Tidman

Geography Award - Frances Rabbitts

History Award - Sara Puddy

Citizenship Award - Miles Tincknell

Brian Elvins Cup for most promising 'A' Level Historian - Tom Young

Mathematics Award - Mark Williams

The Bev Hearn Cup for Photography - James Smith

Psychology Award - Stuart Read

Media Studies Award - Alice Grant

Peter Corrick Computer Award - Ben Clements

Lanes of Cheddar Design &Technology Award - George Hannah

Creative Writing Award - Lily Mason

Chemistry Award - Jason Gupta

Biology Award - Catherine Harding

Physics Award - Lizzie Cooke

Learning Resource Centre Award- Lucy Fenton

Zoe Gertner Cup for the outstanding student of Year 9 - Eve Taschimowitz

Downey Cup for Service to the School - Senior Student Team

Head Boy: Alistair Haggerty

Head Girl: Sarah Bollard

Deputy Head Boys: George Wright, Shane Fear and Jason Gupta

Deputy Head Girls: Hazel Rossiter, Gemma Tidman and Hannah Tinton

Andrew Nicholson Cup for Contribution- Alistair Haggerty

National Westminster Bank Cup for Persistence/Determination - Alice Leonard

Jill James Cup for Enthusiasm - James Elliot

Jennings Cup for Character - Shane Fear

Hardy Award for Good Citizenship - Elizabeth Rabbitts and Frances Rabbitts

The Kings of Wessex Shield - Sarah Bollard

Peter Bubbear Cup for Courage - Trisandhya Trott

Community School Award- Alex Cook and Paul Foster

The Kowopoty Award - ex-Kings student- Kevin Francis-who has achieved success in his catering career at The Dorchester Hotel, London

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus