Academy hosts annual young musicians competition

PUBLISHED: 08:00 09 February 2020

The young musicians won the award on Monday

The young musicians won the award on Monday


Promising musicians were handed awards after impressing the audience at 13th Young Musician Of The Year competition.

Churchill Academy, partnered with Churchill Music, celebrated the event on February 2 where audiences were treated to a varied programme including pieces from the classical repertoire by Bach, Brahms, and Mozart performed alongside contemporary folk and jazz influenced compositions.

Maisie Slingsby was awarded the young musician of the year award after demonstrating her versatility and musicianship.

Naomi Blowers, John Skeen, Bella Dorrington, Chloe Phipps, Bori Gunyits, Molly Johnson, Mimi Mendl and Ella Hutchinson also received awards.

Headteacher Chris Hildrew said: "I'm bursting with pride at the talent, dedication and skill of our young performers, but I am also overwhelmed with gratitude to Churchill Music for the support that they offer to us."

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Weston Mercury. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Weston Mercury