Election: North Somerset Council candidates unveiled

PUBLISHED: 11:49 05 April 2011 | UPDATED: 14:25 05 April 2011

Elections are due on May 5

Elections are due on May 5


NEARLY 200 candidates will fight to win the 61 seats on North Somerset Council when the district goes to the polls on May 5.

Nominations closed yesterday (Monday), meaning some 182 people – unveiled today by this website – will be battling for votes in five weeks’ time.

Among the nominees are some high profile recent candidates, some familiar names from past council terms, and a host of first-time would-be politicians.

The Conservative Party- which has held a big majority within the authority for the past four years - has put forward the most candidates, and will contest 58 seats.

The Labour Party is bidding for victory on 53 fronts, while the Liberal Democrats are hoping for success in 42 areas.

Twenty Independent candidates will be hunting votes, along with five Green Party representatives, three members of the UK Independence Party and a sole nominee from the All The South Party.

The most heavily-contested ward will be Weston West, where 12 different people will be hoping for election.

Ballot papers are due to be distributed around the district in coming weeks, along with information on a national referendum on voting reforms being held on the same day.

This website will of course be publishing more details closer to voting day – and also updating readers on town and parish candidates, due to be confirmed later today.

BACKWELL: Karen Barclay (Independent), Peter Burden (Conservative) and Tom Collinson (Independent).

BANWELL & WINSCOMBE: Stanley Banks (Labour), Cresten Boase (Green), Barry Edwards (Labour), Georgina Edwards (Labour), David Gilbert ((Liberal Democrat), Ann Harley (Conservative), Tony Lake (Conservative), Tim Marter (Conservative), Brian Pike (Liberal Democrats).

BLAGDON & CHURCHILL: Mark Burgess (Labour), Liz Wells (Conservative).

CLEVEDON CENTRAL: Stuart Hale (Labour), Nick Pennycott (Conservative), Ron Vanderholt (Liberal Democrats).

CLEVEDON EAST: Nick Green (Labour), Jon Middleton (Conservative) and David Shopland (Independent).

CLEVEDON NORTH: Bob Garner (Conservative), Joe Norman (Labour).

CLEVEDON SOUTH: Alan Cotton (Labour), Linda Knott (Conservative).

CLEVEDON WALTON: Jack Dagnall (Liberal Democrats), Martin Hime (Labour), John Norton-Sealey (Conservative).

CLEVEDON WEST: Christopher Blades (Conservative), Ivy Cameron (Labour), Trevor Morgan (Independent).

CLEVEDON YEO: Colin Hall (Conservative), Alistair Lindsay (Labour), Robert Masding (Liberal Democrats).

CONGRESBURY: June How (Liberal Democrats), Tom Leimdorfer (Green), Samantha Pepperall (Conservative), Anthony Wontner-Smith (Labour).

EASTON-IN-GORDANO: Maddie Bickle (Independent), Carl Francis-Pester (Conservative).

GORDANO: Nigel Ashton (Conservative), Daisy Bickley (Liberal Democrats), Terry Lester (Labour).

HUTTON & LOCKING: Elfan Ap Rees (Conservative), Glyn Hayes (Liberal Democrats), Hamish Macdonald-Fraser (Liberal Democrats), Terry Porter (Conservative), Tony Probert (Labour), Timothy Taylor (Labour).

KEWSTOKE: Jeffrey Alen (Liberal Democrats), Susan Popperwell (Labour), Ian Porter (Conservative).

NAILSEA EAST: Jan Barber (Conservative), Andy Cole (Independent), Sue Cole (Independent), Anita Heappey (Conservative), John Loosley (Labour), Patricia Loosley (Labour).

NAILSEA NORTH & WEST: Robin Bell (Liberal Democrats), Gaile Blake (Labour), Jeremy Blatchford (Conservative), Mary Blatchford (Conservative), Alan Clarke (Independent), Terence Connell (Labour), Julie Day (Independent), Anne Kemp (Conservative), Suzanne Osborne (Independent), Stephen Varney (Labour).

PILL: Donald Davies (Independent), Nan Kirsen (Independent), James Nethercote (Labour).

PORTISHEAD CENTRAL: John Clark (Liberal Democrats), Reyna Knight (Conservative).

PORTISHEAD COAST: Evelyn Elworthy (Liberal Democrats), David Pasley (Conservative).

PORTISHEAD EAST: Abigail Fuller-Gardener (Labour), Jean Lord (Liberal Democrats), Arthur Terry (Conservative), Roger Whitfield (Independent).

PORTISHEAD REDCLIFFE BAY: Felicity Baker (Conservative), Colin Howells (Liberal Democrats).

PORTISHEAD SOUTH & NORTH WESTON: Nick Doddrell (Liberal Democrats), Paul Dunn (Labour), Alan McMurray (Conservative).

PORTISHEAD WEST: Kirsty Gardener (Labour), David Jolley (Conservative), Susan Mason (Liberal Democrats).

WESTON CENTRAL: Mike Bell (Liberal Democrats), David Drinkwater (Labour), Mike Kellaway-Marriott (Conservative), Clare Kingsbury-Bell (Liberal Democrats), Keith Morris (Conservative), Elisabeth Roberts (Green), Fred Roberts (Labour).

WESTON CLARENCE & UPHILL: Jose Bateman (Labour), Jenny Bindon (Liberal Democrats), Amanda Brading (Liberal Democrats), Anthony Bryant (Conservative), John Ley-Morgan (Independent), June Parker (Labour), David Poole (Conservative), Bryan Trotter (Labour), Clive Webb (Conservative).

WESTON EAST: Will Collins (Conservative), David Cordingley (Liberal Democrats), Catherine Gibbons (Labour), Keith Harrison (Liberal Democrats), Mark Johnston (Liberal Democrats), Michael Lyall (Labour), Dawn Payne (Conservative), David Power (Conservative), Richard Tucker (Labour).

WESTON MILTON & OLD WORLE: Stephen Bowering (Liberal Democrats), Stephen Fudge (Conservative), Jenny Gosden (Liberal Democrats), Monish Kelly (Labour), Michael O’Regan (Labour), Steven Pearse-Danker (UK Independence Party), Lisa Pilgrim (Conservative), Louis Rostill (UK Independence Party), Elizabeth Swan (Labour), Norman Sycamore (Liberal Democrats), Roz Willis (Conservative).

WESTON NORTH WORLE: Darius Foster (Labour), Peter Hardaway (Liberal Democrats), Andrew Hughes (Labour), Philip Judd (Conservative), Ronald Moon (Liberal Democrats), Marcia Pepperall (Conservative), Sonia Russe (Conservative), Jacqueline Scholes (Labour), Richard Skinner (Liberal Democrats).

WESTON SOUTH: Mel Ashworth (Liberal Democrats), Bob Bateman (Labour), John Butler (Conservative), John Carter (Conservative), Bob Dawson (Liberal Democrats), Francis Drake (Conservative), John Hopkins (Independent), Ian Parker (Labour), Debbie Stone (Labour), Amanda Wilkinson (Liberal Democrats).

WESTON SOUTH WORLE: Robert Cleland (Conservative), Peter Crew (Conservative), Dave Dash (Labour), Gully Hayer (Liberal Democrats), David Hitchins (Conservative), Christopher Howell (Liberal Democrats), Edward Keating (Liberal Democrats), Derek Kraft (Labour), Simon Stokes (Labour).

WESTON WEST: Dorothy Agassiz (Labour), Oliver Ballard (Labour), Mark Canniford (Liberal Democrats), Robert Craig (All the South), John Crockford-Hawley (Liberal Democrats), Simon Harrison-Morse (Labour), Andrew Horler (Conservative), Harold James (UK Independence Party), Christopher Kimitri (Conservative), Brian Outten (Green), Dawn Parry (Conservative), Robert Payne (Liberal Democrats).

WINFORD: Michael Dolley (Conservative), Hugh Gregor (Independent).

WRAXALL & LONG ASHTON: Anthony Butcher (Independent), Charles Cave (Conservative), Bob Cook (Conservative), Bridget Mackwood (Independent), Stuart McQuillan (Green), Alan Monks (Labour), Angela Neale (Liberal Democrats), Christopher Smart (Labour).

WRINGTON: Peter Ellis (Conservative), Deborah Yamanaka (Liberal Democrats).

YATTON: Alan Bagg (Labour), Wendy Griggs (Liberal Democrats), Juley Howard (Independent), Jill Iles (Conservative), Tony Moulin (Independent), Annabel Tall (Conservative), Carol Walker (Labour), Hedley Woods (Labour).

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Weston Mercury. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Weston Mercury