General Election 2019: Conservatives retain Wells seat

PUBLISHED: 04:28 13 December 2019 | UPDATED: 06:24 13 December 2019

James Heappey speaking in parliament.

James Heappey speaking in parliament.


James Heappey has been re-elected as MP for Wells.

The Conservatives gained a larger majority than the party managed in 2015 an 2017.

Mr Heappey was voted for by 33,336 people, giving him 54 per cent of the vote.

Tessa Munt, who was the MP for the Liberal Democrats from 2010-15, achieved 23,345 votes.

Labour's Kama McKenzie finished third with 4,304.

Independent candidate Dave Dobbs and the Motherworld Party's Susie Quartermass achieved 373 and 270 votes respectively.

The turnout was 73.51 per cent.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Weston Mercury