General Election polling stations open in Weston-super-Mare constituency

PUBLISHED: 07:00 08 June 2017

Polling stations are open from 7am-10pm.

Polling stations are open from 7am-10pm.


Polling stations around Weston-super-Mare and the rest of the UK have opened this morning (Thursday).

Tens of thousands of votes are expected to be cast in the General Election today in Weston, with five candidates hoping to end up as the constituency’s MP.

READ MORE: All you need to know about voting in the General Election.

John Penrose is standing again for the Conservatives, but faces opposition from Suneil Basu (Green), Tim Taylor (Labour), Mike Bell (Liberal Democrats) and Helen Hims (UKIP).

READ MORE: Candidates debate biggest issues at hustings event.

Polling stations are open from 7am-10pm at which point they will close and the ballot boxes taken to Scotch Horn Leisure Centre in Nailsea, where the votes will be counted.

It is impossible to know precisely when the result will be declared as it is dependent on turnout and any possible recounts. However, it is expected the result will be delivered at about 4am.

The Mercury will be running a live blog of the election throughout the day and the early hours providing 24-hour coverage of the proceedings.

* To offer your insights on the election, tweet @WSMercury.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Weston Mercury. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Latest from the Weston Mercury