New look for famous Somerset landmark
- Credit: Archant
An iconic Somerset landmark has a new look.
Burnham-on-Sea Pavilion, in the Esplanade, has had a new sign following its purchase by J Holland and Sons.
They bought the historic pier from the Parkin family in December 2017, who had previously owned the site for the 49 years.
The branding is one of many changes brought in by the new proprietors, which include gaming machines and children’s funfair rides.
The pavilion opened in 1914 and is famous for having the shortest pier in the country at only 37 metres in length.
You may also want to watch:
Construction work began in 1911 and the building was completed just before the First World War.
The Parkin family took over the derelict pavilion in 1968 and spent significant funds maintaining and renovating the site.
- 1 PICTURES: New Aldi store opens in shopping district
- 2 Poignant artwork installed on Weston beach
- 3 New restaurant named Hospitality Hero by Mercury readers
- 4 Day of Ibiza club classics to be performed in Weston this weekend
- 5 Weston chosen as a ‘priority place’ in bid to transform the country through culture
- 6 Luxurious three-bedroom house overlooking Weston seafront
- 7 Bake Off stars to host afternoon tea in North Somerset this weekend
- 8 Blue plaque installed for famous actress
- 9 Customers urged to support local pubs, restaurants and cafes to boost hospitality sector
- 10 Second school site gets approval despite opposition
Speaking to Burnham-on-Sea.com, a spokesman for J Holland and Sons said: “We are delighted to have taken over the pavilion, we have exciting plans for the future.”