Nostalgia: The original Winter Gardens construction team 90 years ago
PUBLISHED: 08:00 18 October 2017
Weston-super-Mare's Winter Gardens opened 90 years ago, and this picture shows staff working on its construction.
It is believed the picture was given to the builders when work ended on the seafront building in 1927.
It features Albert Eames in the third row, who was one of the carpenters.
The image has remained in his family for 90 years, as it was passed to his daughter, Phyllis Hetherington, who lives in Worle.
Albert worked on more than one of Weston’s iconic buildings, as in the 1930s he cycled every day to the Tithe Barn at Woodspring Priory, where he helped to restore the timberwork in the roof.
Some of the medieval nails he found during his work are still in the Woodspring Priory museum.
The image has been restored for Albert’s family.