School closures for Friday

PUBLISHED: 16:45 07 January 2010 | UPDATED: 11:32 25 May 2010

IT'S a mixed bag for North Somerset schoolchildren hoping for another day off lessons to enjoy the snow.

IT'S a mixed bag for North Somerset schoolchildren hoping for another day off lessons to enjoy the snow.

Education bosses have left the decision whether to reopen after today, when all schools were shut, to individual headteachers.

The result is that around half of the district's schools and children's centres will be reopening on Friday - although some have specified conditions regarding dress or a change to hours.

Not all schools have yet been confirmed.

The current list:

Primary schools that are open: Ashcombe, Backwell, Banwell, Becket, Birdwell (from 10am), Blagdon, Bournville, Burrington, Christ Church, Churchill, Corpus Christi, Court de Wyck (subject to 7am review), Flax Bourton, Golden Valley, Herons Moor, Hillside, Kingshill, St Andrew's, St Anne's, St Francis, St Georges (skeleton staff, and pupils advised to dress for cold weather, instead of uniform), Tickenham, Wrington (from 10am) and Yatton (infants and juniors).

Primary schools that are closed: All Saints, Crockerne, Grove, Hannah More, Highdown (infants and juniors), Hutton, Kewstoke, Locking, Mary Elton, Mead Vale, Mendip Green, Milton Park, Northleaze, Oldmixon, Portishead, St John, St Mark's, St Martin's, St Nicholas Chantry, St Peter's, Trinity, Uphill, Windwhistle, Winford, Worlebury St Paul's, Wraxall and Yeo Moor (infants and juniors).

No decision yet from the following primary schools: Castle Batch, Dundry, Sandford, St Joseph's, St Katherine's, Walliscote, West Leigh and Winscombe.

Secondary schools that are open: Backwell (years 10-13 only, and coaches may not reach Kingston Seymour), Clevedon (from 9.45am), Gordano and Nailsea.

Secondary schools that are closed: Churchill, Priory, St Katherine's, Worle and Wyvern.

No decision yet from the following secondary school: Broadoak.

Special schools that are open: Baytree and Ravenswood.

Special schools that are closed: Westhaven.

The following children's centres are open: Ashcombe, Clevedon, Milton and Old Worle, Nailsea and Backwell, Central Weston and South Weston.

The following children's centres are closed: Banwell, Winscombe and Sandford, Crockerne, Portishead and Yatton.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Weston Mercury

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists