Snow latest: School closures list

PUBLISHED: 09:18 06 January 2010 | UPDATED: 11:32 25 May 2010


Copyright Archant Ltd

SCHOOLS across North Somerset have put up 'closed' signs today in the wake of heavy snowfall.

SCHOOLS across North Somerset have put up 'closed' signs today in the wake of heavy snowfall.

The vast majority of the district's schools are turning pupils away because of the difficult travelling conditions and sub-zero temperatures.

Secondary schools closed today: Backwell, Broadoak, Churchill, Clevedon, Gordano, Nailsea, Priory, St Katherine's, Worle and Wyvern.

Primary schools closed today: All Saints East, Backwell, Banwell, Becket, Birdwell, Blagdon, Bournville, Burrington, Castle Batch, Christ Church, Churchill, Court de Wyck, Crockerne, Dundry, Flax Bourton, Golden Valley, Grove, Hannah More, Herons Moor, High Down (infants and juniors), Hillside, Hutton, Kewstoke, Kingshill, Locking, Mead Vale, Mendip Green, Milton Park, Northleaze, Oldmixon, Portishead, St Andrew's, St Anne's, St Francis, St Georges, St John the Evangelist, St Joseph's, St Katherine's, St Mark's, St Martin's, St Mary's, St Nicholas Chantry, St Peter's, Sandford, Tickenham, Trinity, Uphill, Walliscote, West Leigh, Windwhistle, Winford, Winscombe, Worlebury St Paul's, Wraxall, Wrington, Yatton (infants and juniors) and Yeo Moor (infants and juniors).

Special schools closed today: Baytree, Ravenswood and Westhaven.

Children's centres closed today: Banwell, Winscombe and Sandford, Crockerne, Milton and Old Worle, Portishead and Yatton.

Keep an eye on this website for further updates.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Weston Mercury. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Weston Mercury