Voters head to polling booths

PUBLISHED: 09:00 22 May 2014

Voters head to the polls.

Voters head to the polls.


THE elections for European Parliament are being held today (Thurs).

The UK has 73 seats to fill - a minimum of three of these will be MEPs from the South West.

In this region there are six candidates standing for An Independence from Europe, the British National Party, Conservative Party, English Democrats, Green Party, Labour Party, Liberal Democrats and the UK Independence Party.

Ten candidates have also been put forward from the Socialist Party of Great Britain.

The European Parliament represents people living in the 28 member countries of the EU and it has powers in a range of areas including animal rights, international trade, the environment, consumer and workers’ rights.

It can approve, amend or reject new European laws and it also approves the EU budget and new members of the European Commission.

It is currently made up of 766 members (MEPs), which will drop to 751 after this year’s elections.

Those eligible to vote can visit their nearest polling centre between 7am and 10pm.

Candidates for the South West region...

Labour Party - Clare Moody, Glyn Ford, Ann Reeder, Hadleigh Roberts, Jude Robinson and Junab Ali.

Liberal Democrats - Sir Graham Watson MEP, Dr Kay Barnard, Brian Mathew, Andrew Wigley, Jay Risbridger and Lyana Armstrong-Emery.

Green Party - Molly Scott Cato, Emily McIvor, Ricky Knight, Audaye Elesedy, Henry Gent and Judy Maciejowska.

Conservative Party - Ashley Fox MEP, Julie Girling MEP, James Cracknell, Georgina Butler, Sophie Swire and Melissa Maynard.

UK Independence Party (UKIP) - William Dartmouth MEP, Julia Reid, Gawain Towler, Tony McIntyre, Robert Smith and Keith Crawford.

British National Party - Adrian Romilly, Cliff Jones, Arnold Brindle, Wayne Tomlinson, Andrew Webster and Giuseppe De Santis.

An Independence from Europe - David Smith, Helen Webster, Mike Camp, Andrew Edwards, Phil Dunn and John Taverner.

English Democrats - Alan England, Mike Blundell, Clive Lavelle, Barbara Wright, Steve Wright and Ray Carr.

Socialist Party of Great Britain - Dave Chesham, Rob Cox, Les Courtney, Sean Deegan, Max Hess, Claudia Hogg-Blake, Danny Lambert, Andy Matthews, Howard Pilott and Mike Young.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Weston Mercury

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists