Rebecca McMillan won the women’s club championship for the fourth year running at St Andrews Bowling Club’s indoor finals weekend.

McMillan, who made her England debut recently, beat Debbie Johns and also won the mixed pairs and mixed triples.

Lee Stocker became men’s champion for the first time, beating Charlie Andrews in the latter’s first indoor singles final.

The outstanding singles match of the weekend was the open championship, between Disability Bowls England title-holder Anthony Page and England under-25 player Sam Stocker. In a match of high-class bowls, Page finished brilliantly, scoring seven shots in the last five ends to win 21-16.

They played at the same time as Rebecca McMillan and Debbie Johns, which meant that all four players on the rink had represented England – Johns at shortmat. Johns won the women’s pairs for the second year running, this time with Sue Sinclair.

There was a tremendous mixed pairs final, with Rebeca McMillan and Tim Wyatt recovering from dropping a six on the 17th of 21 ends to beat Carolina Venn and Phil Villis 25-23.

The weekend was organised by competition secretary Don Bailey and David Stott acted as umpire.

Results of the finals: Women – Championship: R McMillan 21, D Johns 5. Pairs: D Johns/S Sinclair 31, S Churchill/C Andrews 14. Men – Championship: L Stocker 21, C Andrews 8. Pairs: A Page/A Lay 18, J Bullock/B Reeves 13. Mixed – Open Championship: A Page 21, S Stocker 16. Mixed Pairs: T Wyatt/R McMillan 25, C Venn/P Villis 23. Mixed Triples: T Wyatt, A McMillan, R McMillan 24, K Uglow, I Allchorne, J Pitman 9. Drawn Mixed Triples: Ch Andrews, J Bullock, B Reeves 23, S Churchill, A Lay, Cl Andrews 12.

Monica Pattenden received life membership of St Andrews at the AGM of the indoor section. She has held various offices at the club over more than 40 years and has organised the indoor umbrella in recent times.

At the same meeting, Sue Sinclair stood down after nine years as women’s indoor captain. The new men’s indoor captain is Si Angove, who will have Anthony Page as his vice-captain.

Other officers elected: committee chairperson Sue Sinclair, secretary and fixtures secretary Jim Keay, friendly captain Robin Potter, competition secretary Don Bailey, association rep Adrian Pattenden, men’s selectors Lee Stocker, Craig Walker, Andy McMillan, women’s selectors Rebecca McMillan, Barbara Mangan.