Annual trophy dinner at Burnham & Berrow

Derek Thomson and Martin Wilkins.

Derek Thomson and Martin Wilkins. - Credit: Archant

Burnham & Berrow Golf Club held its annual trophy dinner.

BURNHAM & Berrow Golf Club recently held their annual trophy dinner.

Winners from throughout the year attended the event to be presented with their trophies by club captain Martin Wilkins.

2013 winners were - AJ Hill Trophy: Brian Colomé & Jared Poole; runners-up: Andy Birkett & Andy Fisher. Berrow Manor Cup: Steve Haines; Jonathan Edwards. Bradbeer Cup: Chris Perry. Burnham & County Winter Cup: John Whitcutt; Richard Nuttall. Burnham Cup: Derek Thomson; Glyn Petrie. Captain’s Prize: Andy Harriott; Barry Hall. Cave Cup: Andy Harriott; Glyn Petrie. Centenary Salver: Ian Moreton; Mel Bell; Elizabeth Sloman.

Charles Parry Foursomes: Andy Birkett & Steve Mercer; Nick Agar & Larry Summers. Courage Cup: David Harries & Jon Marshfield and Martin Plant & Bryn Jones (tied on countback). Fiddlers Ashes: Mel Bell & Pat Rowland. Fred Love Salver: Andy Fisher. Holt Cup: Charlie Huggins; Steve Longmoor. Houldsworth Cup: Chris Hill; Frank Ellis. Husband & Wives: Chris & Jane Powell; Geoff & Elizabeth Sloman.

You may also want to watch:

JH Taylor Gold Medal: Ryan Edwards; Jeremy Larcombe; (best nett prize) Matthew Houghton. Jim Westwater Salver: Neil Folland & Pauline Thorogood; Neil Darby & Mandy Vickers. Kennard Cup: Daniel Solomon; David Pearce. Lysaght Cup: Tony Mason; Graham Gregg. Old Kennard Cup: Bryan Gunning & Miles Richardson; Jon Marshfield & Martyn Milverton. Palmer Cup: Derek Thomson. Palmer Tankard: John Nuttall. Seniors Champion: John Whitcutt; David Huxtable. Tomkinson Cup: Chris Hill; Adrian Deakins. Tradesmens’ Cup: Adrian Deakins; Peter Lismore. Veteran’s Cup: Clive Collins; Brian Colomé. Club Championship: Tom Burley; Justin Lane.

DESSPITE the change in climate, a busy golfing week ensued at Worlebury Golf Club.

Most Read

Some good scores were recorded in the monthly Stableford with Nevil Horne top scoring to comfortably win Division 2 with an excellent 43 points. John Ratajczak came second with 41 and Ryan Harvard third with 39.

Division 1 winner was William Denyer with 39 points, beating Philippe Vibert, whose 38, took second place on countback from Steve Baker. Division 3 was won by Julian Brown with 42, followed by Paul Shearing on 41 and Malcolm Ham on 40.

The Trophy Day competition was a close run affair with the places decided on countback, each pairing scoring 45 points. Dave Collard and Graham Griffiths were victorious, pipping Jim Walton and Paul Shearing with Josh Freeman and Chris Wiseman taking third prize.

The seniors also held a Stableford. Nick Extence top scored in winning Division 1 with 39 points. Former club captain Martin Ford came second with 37, ahead of captain Gerry Miles, whose 36 points took third place.

Clive Mealing won Division 2 with 37 points. Frenchman Henri Josling was runner-up on 36 and Richard Davies third on 34.

On the social front another successful quiz night was held. Quizmaster Pete Lawton ably assisted by Ailstair, delivered an entertaining quiz to a full clubhouse with over 20 teams in attendance.

Club president Keri Allchurch’s team prevailed yet again, closely followed by Gerry Miles, who pushed Mick McManners’s erudite outfit into third.

WORLEBURY Golf Club ladies welcomed Jo Southard from the Lighthouse at Weston charity to their club, where lady captain Pam Burnell presented her with a cheque for £1,110.

The money was raised throughout the year by holding raffles, donations from the winter mixed competitions and a special charity day competition.

Jo was thrilled to receive the cheque on behalf of Lighthouse, whose aim is to help families in Weston. She thanked the ladies and said that the money will go towards parentWISE courses being set up in Locking Castle. People can find out more by going to

Pictured are Pam Burnell, Jo Southard and Marnie Sweet.

IT was serious competition throughout at Wedmore with two medals and a Stableford.

The ladies held their last qualifying competition of the year in cold and difficult conditions. Star of the day was Sarah Matthews, who was the only player to beat par as she won bronze division by five points from Joan Peck in second place with Wendy Lucas a shot back in third.

In silver division, Gina Falcon led the way with an excellent score of 34 points, which again gave her a five-point lead over her nearest rivals. Countback was required to separate these and in the end a birdie two on the final hole was sufficient to give Gill Jones the runners-up spot, with Aileen Robertson in third place.

The seniors had a much better day on Monday for their medal and playing off the shorter winter tees took full advantage. Tony Glover led the way with nett 65 to win Division 1, but only by a single shot from Ivor Monelle, with Martin Easton a shot back in third.

Division 2 boasted two nett 65s with John Cutter taking first place from Mike Peacock by virtue of a better back nine. Paul Burkhill, released from the cares of captaincy, was just one shot back in third place.

The fourth 65 of the day came in Division 3, this time from Dennis Howard, who had a rather more comfortable win. He was five shots clear of James Robertson, with Phil Incledon a further shot back in third.

The club medal had even better scores with Darryll Cornelius winning Division 1 with a nett 64, two better than Tom Smith who edged out Jeremy Richards on countback.

Charles Woodard also scored 64 to win Division 2 and in an identical result to Division 1, Russell Peck was two shots back edging out Brian Webber on countback.

Marcello Di Mascio continued his run of good form to win Division 3 with a nett 65. Countback was again required to sort out the places with Pete Beavan taking second place from Perry Snelgrove, both scoring 68.

Photo shows Sarah Matthews, the only player to beat par in this week’s Ladies Stableford.

THE latest round of the seniors’ Winter League was played at Brean, with the format being a pairs betterball bogey.

The winning duo of Roger Phillips and Len Young combined superbly to beat the course by six and win by two. Runners-up on +4 after a countback were Tony Roper and Geoff Seaman as they relegated Barrie Yearsley and Ken Ponter back into third.

Mark and Suzanne Hatfield were crowned the winners of the Husband and Wife Greensomes. Over the 18 holes, they accumulated 43 points to end up holding a comfortable five-point winning margin over their nearest rivals. Runners-up were Ken and Shelia Rouse with 38, while Steve and Gail Mason took third with 34.

Graham Foy was the winner of the Winter League round with his score of 42 points. On a day when no less than eight players reached or bettered the 40 point mark, Foy won by one from Ian Adams and Richard Triscott.

Both Adams and Triscott scored 41, but with the better back nine Adams was awarded second position.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter