Balcombes bag Irlam glory

WESTON Golf Club held the annual Irlam Trophy competition for the 41st time.

WESTON Golf Club held the annual Irlam Trophy competition for the 41st time.

The trophy format is a husband and wife foursomes competition and was originally presented by well-known local golfer and stalwart Weston member, the late George Irlam. It is now superbly run by Sally Irlam, who puts a huge amount of effort into ensuring that all participants have an enjoyable day, on and off the course.

The competition was won by Andy and Zena Balcombe with a superb score of 40 points. The score added weight to the adage of 'beware the injured golfer' given that Andy was playing with an injured back and was dosed up with painkillers, so as not to let his wife or other playing partners down.

It was only the second time that Andy and Zena had competed in the competition, and they beat a creditable score of 38 by John and Caroline Poole, with Ian and Pam Hudson and Dave and Sue Radcliffe each scoring 37 to take third and fourth place respectively.

You may also want to watch:

The superb meal in the clubhouse gave the 60 competitors a chance to relive their adventures of the day.

Results: Mr and Mrs Balcombe 40 points; Mr and Mrs Poole 38; Mr and Mrs Hudson 37 (back nine); Mr and Mrs Radcliffe 37; Mr and Mrs Biddle 35; Mr and Mrs Jenkinson 33; Mr and Mrs Latham 33; Mr and Mrs Brewin 32; Mr and Mrs Doyle 32; Mr and Mrs LaBand 32; Mr and Mrs Whitewood 32.

Most Read

Bristol Trophy Division 1: D Harding 73 (10) 63; N Browne 71 (7) 64; O Bliss 76 (11) 65; A Sloan 67 (1) 68 (lowest gross); R Davidson 78 (10) 68; W R G Magor 75 (7) 68; M Biddle 77 (9) 68; A Northern 75 (7) 68; A Balcombe 77 (8) 69; T Rees 76 (7) 69; D Rowland 76 (7) 69; J Lane 74 (5) 69; D J Edwards 73 (4) 69; K Lane 76 (6) 70; A Filer 80 (10) 70; R Wilkinson 75 95) 70; J P Latham 78 (8) 70; G Taylor 80 (10) 70; D Andow 79 (9) 70.

Division 2: R Filer 77 (16) 61 (lowest gross, trophy winner); R Orr 78 (14) 64; M Davie 81 (14) 67; Jack Radcliffe 81 (13) 68; A Morgan 82 (14) 68; A McLeish 88 (19) 69; M Frisby 82 (13) 69; D Goldie 85 (15) 70.

The Seniors hosted 63 competitors and there were good scores from Roger Teagle, 40 points, playing in his first competition as a senior member, captain-elect Rick Fowler and the ever-young Mike Hill with 39 points.

Results: T Teagle 40 points; R Fowler 39; M Hill 39 ; K W Hood 38; D Farmer 37; R Skelley 37; R Yeomans 36; I Freeman 36.

Other leading scores: D Andow 36; D Snowdon 36; T Knott 36; R Harris 35; J P Latham 35; R Chambers 35; G Somerville 35; D Phillipson 35; G Tripp 35; F. Burns 35.

Twos: A G Webb (14th); T Knott (14th), D Farmer (3rd).

* ISLE of Wedmore Ladies have been enjoying considerable success recently.

In the County Silver and Bronze Championship at Worlebury, Jenny Cornwell won the Eileen Irlam Memorial Trophy for the best gross score in the bronze division with a creditable 95.

Travelling to Saltford, there were good results in the County Senior Ladies' Stableford. Jan Jenkins played well to take second place in the Silver Division but pride of place went to Carol Jackson, overall winner with 37 points to become holder of the Cunneber Trophy.

In what has become something of a tradition, a mixed group from the club travelled to Tehidy Park in Cornwall for their Festival Week.

Following on from comments last year, separate ladies' prizes in the stableford were competed for this year and Alison Dodkin, Claire Biggs and Liz Sims took the first three places leaving the Tehidy captain to call for greater efforts from his ladies next year.

The Seniors were also out and about, 57 of them digging in to their pensions to pass over the Severn Crossing to Dewstow in Wales. Captain Ellis Nearn, despite all predictions, had laid on splendid weather and the course was in excellent condition. The tight fairways proved difficult to master or maybe it was just the excitement of playing abroad, but scoring was not good.

A notable exception was John Sanderson who took the Smith-Sims Trophy as overall winner with 38 points. This was two points ahead of Graham Jones who won Division 3, and three better than James Robertson who won Division 2. In a tight contest for the over 70s prize, John Bussell just beat Tony Metcalfe on count-back.

Results: Overall: John Sanderson. Division 1: Don Temperton, Martin Easton, Tony Biggs. Division 2: James Robertson, Philip Springfield, John Taylor. Division 3: Graham Jones, Peter Hathaway, Philip Rogers. Over 70s: John Bussell, Tony Metcalfe.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus