Belvedere crash to league leaders

Belvedere’s batting let them down in defeat at league leaders Wellington.

BELVEDERE travelled to league leaders Wellington and despite a spirited fielding effort, they were once again let down by their batting.

Having won the toss, Wellington decided to bat and made a positive start reaching 42 off the first nine overs. The innings changed when Joe Gadd (1-19) had Holloway caught in the deep by Jones for 13.

McCrea removed the talented Sparks and the combination of Watts and Gadd tied down the batsman resulting in Watts removing Short caught by McCrea for 30 and the dangerous Gill superbly caught by Cornish at extra cover.

Belvedere fielded brilliantly and this was typified by Gadd who ran out Capaldi with a fine throw from the deep. Cornish came back and soon had Latifi bowled, whilst Moysey continued to bat solidly at the other end. McCrea came back and removed Moysey for a well compiled 34 before Watts finished the innings running out Desave with a direct hit from point.

You may also want to watch:

In reply, Belvedere soon lost Jones and Ashfield. Chadwick joined Cornish who looked in fine touch making 26 quickly before being undone by the Moysey googly.

Wellington’s spin duo Moysey and Weerawarna ran through the Belvedere batting line up as the low bounce unhinged many batsmen.

Most Read

Chadwick made a solid 30 before chipping a return catch to Weerawarna and the innings soon collapsed as the same bowler bowled Broadhead and Huish leaving Harris undefeated.

WSM Autoelectrical man of the match was Matt Cornish.


P Short c McCrea b Watts 30

M Holloway c Jones b Joe Gadd 13

A Sparks c Watts b McCrea 15

M Gill c Cornish b Watts 6

R Moysey c Cornish b McCrea 34

M Capaldi run out 5

A Latifi b Cornish 4

I Weerawarna b Cornish 14

T Trott run out 6

L Desave run out 2

S Davey not out 2

Extras 20

Total 151

Bowling: M Cornish 9-0-38-2; Joe Gadd 12-5-19-1; S McCrea 11-0-49-2; R Watts 7-1-18-2; M Broadhead 5-1-19-0.


M Cornish b Moysey 26

J Jones b Desave 1

B Ashfield lbw Weerawarna 8

N Chadwick c&b Weerawarna 30

Joe Gadd b Weerawarna 2

K Crockett c Trott b Moysey 5

R Watts c Trott b Moysey 0

S McCrea lbw Moysey 0

M Broadhead b Weerawarna 2

R Huish b Weerawarna 0

C Harris not out 0

Extras 10

Total 84

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter