Berrow presentation evening

Berrow Junior Football Club hold their annual presentation evening.

BERROW Junior Football Club enjoyed their annual presentation awards at the Farmers Tavern in Brean.

It was a great season for all Berrow players, with the highlight being the Under-16s being first division champions in their last season at junior level.

The awards were presented by Richard Williams and Ian Merryweather of Alletsons Solicitors, long term club sponsors.

The signing on day is June 12 at Berrow Village Hall (10am-12.30pm). New players are welcome. For more information, visit

You may also want to watch:

Award winners – Under-9s – top goal scorer (Weston Miniature Railway trophy): Ben Saunders; Sportsman trophy (Simon Herniman Haulage trophy): Alex Hughes; clubman of the year (Howard Garages trophy): Cameron Dyer; volunteer of the year: Dave Chapple; most improved player (The Sawyer trophy): Charlie Simmonds; player of the season (The Alletsons trophy): William Davies.

Under-10s: (The Cotgrove shield) As: Max Feasey; Bs: Elliot Keen; (Chandos trophy) As: Zenon Pantelli; Bs: Tom Hemingway-Arnold; (The Curly Cox trophy) As: Thomas McGreavy; Bs: George Goodall; Jenny Duncan; (Boley & Skuse trophy) As: Jacob Edwards; Bs Adam Duncan; (U2 Hire trophy) As: Charlie Dymond; Bs: George Deason- Barrow.

Most Read

Under-12s: (David Bassi trophy): Jack Goodall; (Berrow & Brean Club trophy): Jacob Foxton; (resented by CM & CA Dyer): Callum McGreavy; Paul Balldegger; (Paul John Accountants trophy): Tom Edwards; (U2 Hire trophy): Kieran Ellis

Under-14s: (Brean Leisure trophy): Sam Dearsley; (Harris shield): Jacob Wagemans; (Cunlife trophy): Josh Watkins; Grant Peckham; (Paneltec trophy): Sam Day; (The Adams trophy): Brandon O’Reilly.

Under-14 girls: (DM Harvey Fencing & Landscapes): Abi Connick; (The Ellis trophy): Vanessa Brill; (The Saturn trophy): Shannon House; Andy & Lynn Addams; (The Geoff Adams trophy): Jade Downie; (The GW Hurley trophy): Megan Manley.

Under-15s: (Harris trophy): Mike Green; (Northam Farm trophy): Jack Beard; (Lloyds Refrigeration trophy): Oliver Scott; Paul & Linda Hardwidge; (The Holimarine trophy): Ashley Hardwidge; (Dyer trophy): Adam Boardman.

Under-16s: (Berrow Inn trophy): Matt Connick; (Berrow Brewery trophy): Jake Dade; (The Presentations shield): Jon Dibble; Miranda Saunders; (The Pheonix Security trophy): Curtis Sanders; (Dyer Family trophy): Callum Ponsford.

Under-16 girls: (Steve McGreavey Electrical trophy): Nicole Morris; (Hemingway Corporation trophy): Charlotte Rogers; (J C Landscape trophy): Bethany Ellis; Paul Lavis; (Eathen & Lucy Ellis trophy): Jess Mager and Kate Buxton; (Stacey Family trophy): Beth Lavis.

Woodspring Fair Play (Roger Mills Sportsman award): Under-9s; manager of the year trophy: Jane Connick Under-14s girls; player of the decade (Bassi trophy): Ben Stacey.

CONGRESBURY Under-10s took part in the annual Aller Park Cup in Somerton and returned with the cup.

With 25 teams entered into the group, it looked set to be a tough day of football. From the start, Congresbury showed their intentions with a great show of their passing and goals from Jay Murray (6), Brandon Tolley (5), Jake Flevell (3), Reece Ferguson and Lewis Neal.

There was solid defending from Dan Sturman and great saves, including a penalty, from keeper Chris Beddingfield.

After battling through the five games in the group stages, they went on to play the quarter and semi-finals, winning both games 1-0 to send them into the final against South Cherition. Congresbury started strongly from the start and a great finish from Tolley saw them 1-0 up, shortly followed by a great assist from Flavell with Murray’s great finish to win the final 2-0.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter