Captain wins at the Avenue club

Avenue Tennis Club captain Richard Belfield and partner Jane Macauley recently won the Jan Mackay Memorial Cup.

THE Jan Mackay Memorial Cup was won by Avenue Tennis Club captain Richard Belfield and new club member Jane Macauley, who managed to win all of their five matches.

Second place went to ladies’ club captain Lynn O’Dell and Ian Phillips. Head coach Vinny Duddy wanted to thank Mr Mackay for presenting the trophies and Barry Ramsden for running the tournament in his absence.

Thanks and well done to Jessica Griffiths, junior committee member and Avenue academy player who played as the male player with last tournament winner Carrie Vohra.

Duddy said the new adult membership deal has been successful. The club have decided to continue with the promotion until the end of this year. Included in the membership offer are 10 free tennis lessons on a Saturday afternoon from 2-3.30pm for a cost of �50.

You may also want to watch:

The club will be holding a junior tennis camp during the first week of the school holidays (December 19-23) from 9am-4pm. Please see club website for booking forms (

The club’s annual family and friends Christmas lunch will be held on December 4 (12.30pm for 1pm). Everyone is reminded to book up early for this popular event, which is excellent value for money at �10 per adult and �5 for Under-12s. Please put your name up on the list on the club’s notice board.

Most Read

Chairman’s mince pies Sunday will be held on December 18 from 12.30pm onwards. The club will also be the venue for the a New Year’s Eve glamour and glitz ball which is being run by the Grovers – (residents of the Grove where the tennis club is situated). The evening will include dancing to a DJ, canapes and a cocktail bar all for �10 per person (Under-14s free). More details available on the club website.

? AVENUE Tennis Club head coach Vinny Duddy was pleased to see Matthias Benishcke from the junior tennis academy win the last BW Controls Ltd mini red tournament of 2011.

Matthias won all six of his matches against four players from within the club and two from other clubs. Charlie Jackson, Presha Kumar, James Coogan all tied for second place with four wins each, with other players Tom Spinks, Josh Chenylle-Proctor and Dylan Webb completing the other entrants.

Dylan Webb won the prize for best sportsman on the day. Later that afternoon, Mason Parker beat Ellie May Vohra in the green ball event. Junior tournaments will return to the club on February 13, 2012.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus