Cheddar rifle club AGM and prizegiving

Cheddar Rifle Shooting Club.

Cheddar Rifle Shooting Club. - Credit: Archant

Cheddar Valley Rifle Club held its AGM and prizegiving at the Fat Fox (Cheddar Football Club).

THE various winter Cheddar Valley Rifle Club activities have been put to bed and the results were celebrated at the AGM held at the Fat Fox (Cheddar Football Club).

The meeting opened with a minute’s silence for Trevor Paisey, who died last year as well as other absent friends.

This year the club had six ladies and 16 men shooters, unfortunately no juniors.

Vera Lee (president) presented the trophies.

You may also want to watch:

In the Somerset, Bristol and District Winter Leagues, medal winners included Mike Griffin, Carolyn Olsen, Tony Thwaite, Barbara Griffin, Cliff Simmons and Tom Paisey.

Bob Abbott and Tom Paisey were the two noticeably improved shooters in the winter leagues and the rest averaged of about 99 per cent of last year’s scores. The novice cup went to Mike Soars and the Mad Hatter Trophy final was between Bob Abbott and Simon Ellis, with Simon taking the trophy.

Most Read

In the handicap competitions, Gaynor Avery took the ladies’ and Dave Oatley the men’s cup with good scores in both events.

The Ken Lane Trophy is a knockout competition with teams of three shooters and the final was between Ruth Bell, Keith Thickett and Carolyn Olsen (team C) and Mike Griffin, Pat Williams and Barbara Griffin (team F). Team C beat team F by one point 298-297.

This year Tom Paisey won the Andy Hobbs Trophy and Cliff Simmons collected the Peter Crandon Trophy for outdoor shooting at 50 metres. The Battle of the Sexes is always a serious match with Simon Ellis’s team losing to Pat Williams’s team with two out of the three rounds going to the ladies outright.

The H Leonard Williams trophy went to Ruth Bell and the pair’s event went to Tom Paisey and Simon Ellis. Gaynor Avery took the Captain’s Cup for the most improved shooter over the year, based on internal club averages.

Again this year the club champion, an honour based on the best six groups, rapids and deliberates, was Mike Griffin with scores of 591, 570 and 600 respectively.

The Bent Bullets were presented to Keith Thickett and Cliff Simmons and the Wooden Spoon went to Ruth Bell.

During the earlier part of the meeting, Barbara Griffin declared that she would not stand for re-election as secretary and she was presented with flowers and a token gift from club members after 30 years as an officer of the club. Ruth Bell was elected as the new secretary.

Other shooting activities included Somerset Small Bore Shooting Association’s 50m open shoot at Long Ashton in which Cliff Simmons was winner of class C. Mike Griffin was third in the veterans, Cheddar was third in the team event and Mike and Keith were second and third in the county championship respectively.

Bristol and District Cup finals: Official results are awaited, but rumour has it that Gaynor Avery won the ladies, Keith won the Godfrey Watson with Mike Grifin second, Tom Paisey was second in the Eastville and the Caxton Bowl.

Chippenham Open: Keith Thickett was third in A class and Mike Griffin was second in the veterans. Cheddar was second in the team event.

Cheddar Valley Rifle Club is an established and fully approved 0.22 calibre target rifle shooting club with its own 25 yard indoor range in the village and welcome new members.

All equipment needed is provided by the club, which is open Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings between 7.30-11pm. Anyone interested in trying the sport should contact the secretary on 01934 522961.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter