Chris captures prestigious trophy at Worlebury

Worlebury Golf Club winners.

Worlebury Golf Club winners. - Credit: Archant

Chris Mannings-Hill won the prestigious WD Payne Flag Cup at Worlebury Golf Club.

THE WD Payne Flag Cup is one of Worlebury Golf Club’s premier competitions.

At the end of 18 holes, competitors with shots in hand start a second round and carry on until they have exhausted them. The winner is the person who is furthest round the course.

This year’s competition produced a tight finish with several competitors setting off down the first again. With four shots in hand, it was Chris Mannings-Hill who prevailed, when he holed out on the first narrowly beating James Walton, who just fell short.

The Scratch Salver 36-hole final was contested by category 1 golfers, Alex Winn and Paul Simmonds. After the morning round, young Winn held a commanding lead. In the afternoon round, however, the tables were turned and seasoned campaigner, Simmonds, whittled away at the deficit.

You may also want to watch:

By the end of the 36 holes it was all square, but Winn held his nerve to birdie the second extra hole and secure a hard-earned victory.

Chris Mannings-Hall receiving the trophy from club captain, Keith Wharton.

Most Read

WESTON Golf Club was chosen to host the Somerset Ladies Generation Cups.

It took place on a fine, but blustery day that tested the teams, which consisted of a junior plus lady golfer.

The event was won by Weston’s Reine O’Reilly, the county delegate for the club, with her partner, Chloe Wedlake from Tickenham, a promising young player, who is already in the county junior team.

Juniors featured again at the first playing of the Olga Forte Trophy, a greensomes competition with pairings of a junior and an adult.

The result was close right up until the end. The pairings of Christian Albon and Glenda Latham finished in third place. Runners-up were Tom and Sandro Forte, but with a magnificent 40 points, the winners were James Holt and John Davidson. It took an audacious drive over the out of bounds on the 17th to secure a birdie four which clinched the result.

Weston’s men won both of their matches in the Avalon League. Going into the match, Weston still had a chance to win the division. After beating Long Sutton, a whitewash was needed against Mendip to have a chance of heading the division.

A competitive match ended in 3-2 win, but the result meant that Mendip won Division 5 by just one point.

Reine O’Reilly and Chloe Wedlake receiving the trophy from county president Sally Irlam.

John Davidson, James Holt, Tom Forte, Olga Forte, Christian Albon and Glenda Latham.

SUMMER may be drawing to a close, but there is still plenty of golf being played at Wedmore.

There was a large field for the ladies’ open bowmaker with a significant number of visitors claiming prizes.

First place in the team prizes went to a home team though, with June Smith, Maggie Dommett and Liz Hill amassing 86 points to put them three clear of the field. The runners-up were visitors from Kingsdown. Sue Gray, Dohti Bell and Do Comley.

There was a tight finish for the other prizes with three teams all finishing with 81 points. Third place to Jane and Di Midgley and Shirley Turner. Jenny Cornwell, Wendy Lucas and Carol Pinks took fourth place, with Bridget Cuddy, Sally Turner and Pat Whitehead from Long Sutton taking the visitors’ prize.

Senior captain’s day, hosted by Paul Burkhill and alongside some more light hearted prizes there was a more serious Stableford competition playing for the Barron Bowl.

Former captain Ron Barron was not only there to present the prize, but came close to winning it. He finished in a three-way tie on 40 points, but had to settle for the Over-70s prize.

The trophy winner was John Cutter, who beat Bob Dainty on the back nine. Dainty took first place in Division 2, one point ahead of Colin Clegg with Mike Peacock a further point behind in third.

Division 1 went to Ivor Monelle who was only one point off the overall lead on 39. This was a point better than David Taylor with John Russell again in the prizes in third. Phil Rogers won Division 3 on 37 points, ahead of Fred Linham who seems to be improving with age and Jim Sims who was third.

Wedmore ladies’ open bowmaker winners.

CLUB chairman and seniors’ past captain Tony Roper and ladies’past captain Debbie Windmill won their respective sections of Brean’s annual past captain’s day.

Over 20 previous post holders at Brean returned to enjoy a round of golf, a meal and to meet up with some old friends.

Roper, with a new driver and putter in his bag, had the best score of the day by some margin with a card showing a 42 point total. This was four better than Roger Vaughan and Bob Masterman in the men’s section of the event.

Debbie Windmill produced a solid round as she beat her handicap by one with 37 points to take victory in the ladies’ event. This was two better than Annie Williams, with Jenny Vaughan taking third one point further back.

Ian Adams reached the turn in Sunday’s Super Series Stableford in a stunning level par gross which gave him a massive 27 points. Not surprisingly he couldn’t maintain that same form on the homeward nine, but he still managed to add another 14 points to give him a total of 41.

This proved to be good enough to take the win by a single point from John Cullinan, with Barrie Tucker shading it ahead of Murray Parsons in third.

Vince Ford was the winner of the Avalon Open at Brean with a card of 42 points. Second place went to Andy Chapple on 41, ahead of a trio on 40. Roger Vaughan was took third spot from Stewart Garrett with Neil Barker ending up in fifth position.

Two George’s led the scorecharts in the September seniors’ monthly Stableford, both with 40 point totals. George Thomas was declared the victor after a countback over George Stratford. Third place went to John Sherwood on 37.

Dave Benjafield halted his poor run of form with a superb nett 65 in the second round of the seniors’ eclectic medal. Bob Hurrell was second on 66 and third place was taken by Pete Douglas on 69.

The club mixed team suffered a narrow defeat in their annual match against Worlebury. This year’s game for the Breanbury Trophy was hosted by Worlebury and they won the closely contested match 4-3.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus