David and James share player of the year award

David Swann. Photo by Andrew Collins.

David Swann. Photo by Andrew Collins. - Credit: Archant

David Swann and James Mackay shared the player of the year trophy at Weston RFC’s presentation evening.

JAMES Mackay and David Swann became joint holders of the Player of the Year Trophy at Weston RFC’s presentation evening at the clubhouse last Friday.

Fly-half Mackay was the club’s leading points scorer during the 2012-2013 season and Swann was described by joint head coach Paul Redman as the cornerstone of the pack.

The players’ choice for the Clive Sibley Cup was scrum-half Dan Waldon. The Young Player of the Year Trophy was presented to 19-year-old utility back Harry Jones.

Joint head coach Steve Worrall thanked chairman of rugby Simon Godfrey, together with team manager Chris Heath and touch judge Robert Harris. There were also words of praise to water boys George Bamsey, Dominic Sprague and Ryan Donegan.

You may also want to watch:

Injured skipper Gavin Simpson congratulated his team in attaining third position in National 3 South West and winning the Somerset Cup for the 10th time. He also made mention of the work of photographer Andrew Collins.

The Chairman’s Cup was presented by Tony Russell to former chairman Peter Sloman. Mr Russell also welcomed Dave Chapman of Hornets RFC.

Most Read

Roger Coles won the Clubman of the Year Trophy and the Peter Spencer Cup went to centre Sylvan Edwards.

The Ann Whatley Trophy went to colts George Chapman and Aaron Sullivan, who also assisted with coaching in the junior section.

The Unsung Hero award was won by Andrew Ballard and the writer of the year award was secured by Mark Matthews. Earlier, Athletic team manager Phil Hancock presented both player awards to wings Jack Bridgeman and Rob Blackborrow.

Team manager Mark Matthews congratulated David Steele on reaching 200 appearances for the United XV and after thanking skipper Paul Sprague, coach Robert Hedges and James Reid, he named highly-promising full-back Carl Fletcher as United’s player of the year.

Colts manager Tony Bush told the gathering that the team had won 11 of their 18 matches and thanked coaches Derek Hannam, Scott Hannam, together with club secretary Rob Solomon for their support.

Fly-half George Chapman won the Young Player Trophy and the clubman award went to lock Harry Bush. Rich Ford was the players’ choice and the player of the year was Robbie Mackay.

Dr George Papworth thanked the sponsors and the programme ad perimeter advertisers.

At the end of the evening, hosted by Rob Solomon, ‘200’ caps were presented by Simon Godfrey to Andrew Glen and George Sparks.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus