David takes over the captaincy at Clarence

Bowls generic picture

Bowls generic picture - Credit: Archant

David Stott was elected captain of Clarence Bowling Club at the club’s annual meeting.

ONE of the sport’s busiest players and administrators, David Stott, took on yet another job when he was elected captain of Clarence Bowling Club for 2015.

The retired schoolteacher is registrar of the two big Weston open tournaments, held at Clarence, and is also manager of the England visually-impaired bowls team. In addition, he is also a coach and the club’s child protection officer.

His vice-captain will be Alan Bishop, who, with the considerable assistance of his wife Sue, has been the club’s excellent Sunday captain for the last two years. He hands over the Sunday job to former London butcher Ken Marshall.

Bob Rossiter, the club’s visually-impaired England international, was re-elected for a second year as president. However, Jeff Hayes stood down after six years as treasurer and the club are looking for a successor. Hayes was thanked for all his hard work.

You may also want to watch:

President Rossiter told the AGM that it had been a good season for Clarence, with the highlight being the Somerset County League Division One North championship and promotion to Premier Two.

He reported that Clarence Ladies had voted unanimously at their AGM to amalgamate with the men’s club. The third club based at Clarence, Wessex Ladies, had yet to make a decision on this and the men’s club were trying to set up a meeting with them.

Most Read

Paul Tubb, Clarence’s delegate to the Weston & District Over-60s League, said that a proposal by him and Alan Richardson, the club’s match secretary, to make it an over-55s league, had been defeated narrowly at the league AGM.

County delegate Reg Flicker said that at the recent Somerset Bowls AGM, the centenary mixed fours event, hosted by Clarence, had been described as the highlight of the season and that many would like it to be an annual event at the same venue. Another might be held in 2016.

Long-time club stalwarts Paul Tubb, Trevor Ward and Chris Read were elected life members at the meeting.

Other officers elected included - vice-president: Alan Richardson; secretary: Tony Mannion; membership secretary: Barrie Underwood; house manager: Chris Read; catering: Roger Burrough; competitions: Mick Edlin and Barrie Underwood; selection: Chris Tippett, Adrian Gardiner, Paul Tubb, Mick Edlin; social: Roger Burrough and Don Towie; trustees Ron Higgins, John Edwards; CPBA reps: Trevor Ward, Mike Scoins; archivist: Don Towie; welfare officer: Mike Skyrme; press officer: Jim Keay; county delegate: Reg Flicker; child protection officer: David Stott.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter