Duncan rules on the airfield

Weston Motor Club hold a successful rally sprint at Weston airfield.

DRIVERS travelled from all over the South West and Wales, to compete in the Paul Sellick Brickwork Rally Sprint at Weston Airfield on Easter Saturday, organised by Weston Motor Club.

The entry list included Mitsubishi Evo’s, Subaru Impreza’s and a rare Ford RS200 as well as the regular and successful clubman cars such as Vauxhall Nova’s, Peugeot 205’s, Vauxhall Astra’s, many Escorts from Mk 1 to Mk 3, as well as a couple of Toyota’s, an MGZR and a VW Polo.

This was the third rally sprint to be held on the old airfield by the club, but nobody could beat local talent Duncan Holder in his Metro 6R4 to the fastest time of the day. Holder stormed into the lead on the first stage and never really looked like losing it.

Holder’s main opposition over the 3.9 mile stage appeared to come from Tim Porter, but Richard Davies from Pembrokeshire in his 1600cc Escort Mk2, put up the day’s fastest time on his fourth and final run and eased Porter out from second place on his maiden outing in the Darrian T90 and Simon Mansell in his Escort.

You may also want to watch:

Few incidents marred the day and all drivers seemed to enjoy the event, the four timed-run format giving drivers a good chance to familiarise themselves with the course and the opportunity to lower the times throughout the day.

Many competitors are looking forward to the Regency Stages event Weston Motor Club are organising at the Bath and West showground in October, but some will also be competing in the unique Sandocross event also being organised by Weston on May 15 on Weston beach – check out their website www.wsmmc.com for further details.

Most Read

Results - FTD Duncan Holder, Metro 6R4, 18 minutes 20 seconds. Class A: Bill Paynter, Peugeot 106, 20.46; Scott Cleverdon, VW Polo, 20.50; Geoff Orchard, Vauxhall Nova, 21.16.

Class B: Richard Davies (2nd overall), Mk 2 Escort, 18.44; William Bye, Peugeot 205, 19.46; Tom Bye, Peugeot 205, 20.03. Class C: Tim Porter (3rd overall), Darrian T90, 18.52; Les Skeet, Peugeot 205, 18.55; Anton Shaw, Escort, 19.25.

Class D: Simon Mansell, Escort, 18.53; Phil Davies, Toyota MR2, 19.36; Richard Knott, BMW 325i, 19.48. Class E: Colin Knott, Subaru Impreza, 19.08; Nigel Mummery, Ford RS200, 19.11; Phil Wilkinson, Toyota Celica, 21.10.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter