End of season tournament at Uphill

THE junior section of Uphill Badminton Club held their keenly contested end of season tournament with over 66 children from five to 16-years-old taking part.

THE junior section of Uphill Badminton Club held their keenly contested end-of-season tournament with over 66 children from five to 16 years old taking part.

Penny Shears, the Avon badminton development officer, presented the prizes on behalf of the Howard Group who make this end of season celebration possible by their kind sponsorship.

The trophies sponsored by the Howard Group give the children a pride in their achievements and considerable encouragement for the future.

The club’s junior section is one of the largest in the South West, with two qualified coaches and four qualified leaders. This season, Kate Robinson, Luke Morgan and Jack Rickwood have all represented the club in the Avon County Junior teams or squads.

You may also want to watch:

The following presentations to the children were made – group singles winners: Rhyanan Kelly, Aiden Malik, Tom Miller, Anna Short, Alistair Robinson, Will Bennett, Anna Bickell, Chloe Palmer, Luke Morgan, Billy Fear, Harrison Whitehouse, Dannie Stone and Caroline Higgins.

Runners-up: Declan Brace, Alistair Robinson, Lucy Robinson, Tom Miller, Jack Rickwood, Amy Jacobs, Lelia Whitehouse, Rowan Weekes, Sourish Ganapathi, Luke Morgan, Lauren Rickwood and Kate Robinson.

Most Read

Doubles winners: Louis Lockwood, Aiden Malik and Joss Wort, Alex Price and Alistair Robinson, Anna Short and Courtney Edwards, Tom Miller and Archit Sinthal, James Jeremiah and Toby Norman, Chloe Palmer and Georgia Melwani, Brendan Cooper and Oliver Loud, Billy Fear and Harrison Whitehouse, Emily Walker and Emily Look, Brendan Cooper and Lauren Rickwood, Emily Look and Billy Fear.

Runners-up: Will Holtby and Charlie Lookwood, Oliver Mathew and Lewis Gilbert, Grace Spurling and Bethany Chadwick, Matt Gilmore and Alistair Robinson, Will Bennett and Andrew Gilmore, Harriett Cook and Lily Spurling, Rowan Weekes and Zac Woods, Sourish Ganapathi and Luke Morgan, Felicity Pritchard and Caroline Higgins, Jack Rickwood and Dannie Stone, Grant Kelly and Emily Walker.

Certificates for 100 per cent attendance: Lauren Rickwood and Sourish Ganapathi.

Main awards were presented to - most improved girl player (Under-10); Lucy Loud Trophy for the most improved boy player Under-10: Lewis Gilbert; the Roy Curry Cup for the most improved girl player Under-13: Anna Collins; the Roy Curry Cup for the most improved boy player Under-13: William Bennett.

The Caroline Shield for the most improved girl player in club all ages: Felicity Pritchard; the Brown Shield for the most improved boy player in club all ages: Callum Grayson; the Poole Cup for the sports person of the year: Caroline Higgins.

At the end of the presentation, thanks were given to Mary Palmer, Lynn Pope, Mark Edwards, Paul Edwards, Robin Curry, Grant Kelly, Andy Potts, Billy Fear, Caroline Higgins, Kate Robinson, Harrison Whitehouse, Fiona Singleton and Helen Woodfin, in recognition of all their help throughout the season.

The children presented Caroline and John Poole with flowers and gifts, for all their hard work and help throughout the season.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus