End of season tournament finals held at Uphill Badminton Club

PUBLISHED: 14:24 04 April 2018 | UPDATED: 14:24 04 April 2018

Uphill Badminton Club junior winners.

Uphill Badminton Club junior winners.


A keenly contested end of season tournament was held at Uphill Badminton Club with more than 80 children taking part.

Uphill Junior Badminton Club held their keenly contested end of season tournament with more than 80 children from four to 18 years old participating.

Caroline Poole, who began the junior club some 30 years ago, made the presentations on behalf of the Howards Motor Group, who sponsored the trophies for the 18th consecutive season. The trophies give the children a pride in their achievements and considerable encouragement for the future.

The club’s junior section is organised by Mark and Paul Edwards, with help from other coaches and older junior members to make it all work so well.

The junior club is one of the largest in the South West, with more than 90 children being coached this season by three qualified coaches and two qualified leaders.

This season, Harry Gardner, Sophie Gardner, Dong Hao, Lewis Gilbert, Zion Chen Marcus Pan and Vincent Tseung have all been involved in the Avon County Junior teams and squads.

All of this junior development is only made possible by the dedication of the coaches, leaders and older junior helpers who give their considerable time and voluntary help.

Caroline Poole made the following presentations to the children – singles winners: Sophia Miles, Aidan Lammas, Emma Goodhew, Cameron Dormer, Meggie Lee, Aidan Chacko, Emily Aldridge, Lewis Conroy, Heather Russell, Lucy Loud, Anuj Gupta, Marcus Pan.

Runners-up: Dylan Miles, Jess Alsop, Shanay Gumus, Charlotte Alsop, Phoebe Lee, Xuyi Lin, Riley Badman, Louis Kannan, Eleanor Russell, Mason Berinmah, Bethany Chadwick, Emily Aldridge, Jack Rickwood, Vincent Tsang

Doubles winners: Emma Yang/Zoe Fhang, Charlotte Alsop/Emma Goodhew, Christos Konnou/Cameron Dormer, Eleanor Russell/Riley Badman, Oscar Kin Mun/Louis Kannan, Emily Aldridge/Aidan Chacko, Ivan Kin Mun/Alyssa Ball, Bethany Chadwick/Lucy Loud, Archit Singhal/Shuo Shuo Jin, Ben Moore/Anna Bickell, Shuo Shuo Jin/Elliot Burstow

Runners-up: Katherine Dormer/Aidan Lammas, Alice Mu/Xian Fhang, Emily Aldridge/Ginni Rulli Gibbs, Courtney/Daniel Kannan, Meggie Lee/Elliot Millard, Daniel Kannan/Hannah Rimmer, Heather Russell/Alice Morgan, Jack Rickwood/Lewis Conroy, Harry Gardner/Lucy Loud, Zion Chen/Emily Aldridge.

The Avon Junior League trophies were also awarded to Uphill for winning the Under-18 category this season, as well as the senior league C team who won Division 5 with all junior players.

Certificates for 100 per cent attendance were presented to: Emma Yang, Alice Mu and Oscar Kin Mun.

Trophy for the most improved girl player under 10 yearrs: Meggie Lee; boy: Roman Wood. The Roy Curry Cup for the most improved boy player under 13 years: Vincent Tsang; girl: Hannah Rimmer.

The Caroline Shield for the most improved girl player in club all ages: Bethany Chadwick; boy. The Brown Shield for the most improved boy player in club all ages: Ben Moore. The Poole Cup for the Sportsperson of the Year: Anna Bickell.

At the end of the presentation, thanks were given to, Kirsty Badman, Clive Wood, Rob Morray, Helen Woodfin, Glyn Davis, Mary Palmer, Billy Fear, Caroline Higgins, Harry Gardner, Jack Rickwood, Aniraj Sapra, Archit Singhal, Ben Moore, Anna Bickell, Alice Morgan, Bethany Chadwick and Lucy Loud for all their help and coaching throughout the season.

The children and parents presented Mark and Paul Edwards with a card and gifts, in recognition of all their hard work throughout the season.

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Weston Mercury

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists