Full house for Weston awards evening

There was a full house at Weston RFC’s Drove Road headquarters for their annual dinner and awards evening.

ALTHOUGH the club had not enjoyed the best of season, there was a full house at Weston RFC’s Drove Road headquarters for their annual dinner and awards evening last Friday.

The top award of clubman of the year went to former No 8 Peter Sloman (48), who had previously made 213 1st XV appearances in a 10-year playing career, carried out numerous tasks on the playing side. Mr Sloman will be installed as club treasurer at the forthcoming AGM.

The 1st XV’s young player trophy went to 22-year-old blindside flanker Cronan Gleeson and the Clive Sibley Memorial Award was presented to utility back and top try scorer Harry Jones.

The player of the year was scrum-half Hayden Tuttiett, who is the grandson of Ben, a former Weston and Somerset No 9 in the late 40s and 50s.

You may also want to watch:

Ashley Russell deputised for skipper George Sparks, thanking everyone connected to the first team.

David Burge spoke on behalf of the United who had achieved their best position (3rd) in the Somerset Premier League.

Most Read

Team manager Stuart Board presented a special award to Dominic Sprague for his work on the touchline and both the players and the playing of rugby committee voted for scrum-half Ollie Trott as their player of the season. Leading points scorer fly-half George Chapman (216) was awarded the Chairman’s Cup.

The Ann Whatley Trophy went to Colts player Billy Kirk and the unsung hero award went to fitness coach Paul Jones.

Team manager Andrew Ballard, who was later presented with the Peter Spencer Trophy, reported that over 90 players had appeared for the Athletic XV, which also finished in third position in Somerset 2 North.

Mr Ballard mentioned Grahame Hill’s 10 years as skipper and gave the young player award to full-back Josh Wheeler, who had emphasised his skills for his nine tries.

The Athletic’s player of the season was utility back Dan Prime, who scored 131 points in 21 appearances, including 15 tries.

Richard Hynes presented the awards to the promising Colts XV for whom James Fox was the top try scorer with 16 and Harry Fowler led the points scoring with 82.

Mr Ballard also mentioned the reliable work carried on every match day by Bradley Robinson, duties which include touchline flags, water and medical kit.

The Murray Kirkbride Loyalty Trophy went to Brandon Robinson and both the players’ and young player award was secured by Tom Sugg. The player of the season was Callum Kingscott.

There was a special award made to Bob Hedges, who had announced his retirement from the tasks which he was carrying out for the club.

Tony Russell informed the meeting that these tasks were the preparation of the season’s fixture cards, the programme notes and the playing records, the last of which will be taken over by Oliver Ridge. Mr Hedges was presented with a Waterman’s fountain pen.

Dr George Papworth praised the work done by Tony Russell who was retiring from the chairman’s seat which he occupied for five years and before that, Mr Russell had also been secretary for a decade.

Finally, the club’s new player/head coach Glenn Dickson told the gathering that he would be making every effort to ensure the club’s return to National League status.

He continued to say that his return to the club meant a lot to him and that he had high expectations of success.

The event was conducted by secretary Rob Solomon.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus