Glitz, glamour and gongs

Malcolm Gammon and Ian Carpenter.

Malcolm Gammon and Ian Carpenter. - Credit: Archant

Weston Athletic Club held its annual awards evening at the Grand Pier.

FOR one night only, Weston Athletic Club’s members swapped their trainers and lycra for suits and sequins at the annual club awards evening.

The event, held at the Grand Pier, gave members the opportunity to celebrate the many and varied achievements throughout the club in 2013.

Jim Wotton, the club’s road running manager, compèred the evening and summed up the achievements of many of the worthy winners. Each year, the club championship gives members the opportunity to compete in a series of races, building up points as they go, according to their finishing positions.

The winner of the female championship this year was Maddy Cook, who completed the year on 256 points having competed in 23 of the championship races. Cheryl Valentine was runner-up with 210 and Mary Oaten third with 180.

You may also want to watch:

The spoils in the male championship were taken by Dominic Taylor-Jones who amassed a colossal 633 points in just 25 events. Guy Bradford took runner-up spot with 604, and the remaining championship placings went to Kieron Summers (589), Andy Chadburn (514) and John Hinchliffe (495).

Chadburn also scooped the Barry Hotlegs Trophy, awarded to the club member who runs the most championship races throughout the year. Andy ran 42 of the 50 races in 2013.

Most Read

The awards for the most improved runners of the year went to Nick Cook and Maddy Cook, both of whom went from strength to strength throughout the year.

The club’s achievement award goes to the member who has achieved something particularly significant during the year went to Ian Shillcock, who underwent a successful kidney transplant operation in 2013 and is now fit, well and running again.

Roger Hart received a special tankard as a mark of recognition of his outstanding marathon career, having completed over 30 marathons in under three hours which is truly remarkable.

The clubman award went to Claudine Mercer, who has not been able to run as much as she would have liked in the past year, but whose support for the club has remained undiminished.

Phil Tomlinson was named triathlete of the year having completed his first Ironman in a spectacular 9.50.26, and the triathlon bowl, along with a hand of bananas, went to Paul Snelling.

The performance award went to Andy Kelsey, while Adrian Noble scooped the marathon cup following the completion of his first marathon in 3.09.21. Nick Cook also bagged the 5k handicap award.

Two long-serving club members, Steve Baxter and Andy Salter, were honoured with club life memberships in recognition for their tremendous contributions to the club over the years.

Malcolm Gammon was awarded the Founder’s Cup for colossal amount of work he does for the club both on the road and behind the scenes.

The chairman’s award was made to Sara and Gareth Weaver, who work hard behind the scenes to develop the club’s website.

An impressive 54 club members were also applauded for having achieved a personal best in the five mile prom run during the course of the year.

Jim also paid tribute to the many club members who work so hard behind the scenes and who volunteer in all weathers at club races.

For more information about club membership and the club’s future events visit

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter