Worlebury juniors enjoy victory in Presidents Cup

PUBLISHED: 09:27 28 October 2016

Weston Golf Club ladies.

Weston Golf Club ladies.


Worlebury juniors triumphed in the latest staging of the Presidents Cup, contested between Worlebury and Weston juniors.

The Presidents Cup is a long-standing annual competition contested by the juniors of Worlebury and Weston.

It was established in 1991 by two highly-respected members of the clubs, Wally Hartree and George Irlam, who were presidents of their respective clubs at the time. Under the watchful eye and with the full support of Worlebury president, Frank Barlow and Olga Forte of Weston, it was Worlebury who were victorious on this occasion by 2.5 to 0.5.

Both clubs fielded a mixed side of experienced and newer junior members. Worlebury junior captain Ryan Thrupp led the way, and, despite playing on his own, he won an early half point.

Worlebury’s rear guard gave them the edge. Wins by the pairings of Alex Chandler/Olly Tripp, who was playing his first junior match, and Ollie Chandler, partnering nine-year-old Troy Young, saw Worlebury home.

Ladies’ vice-captain in-waiting Lorna Macivor, hosted a fun nine-hole bowmaker competition for new lady members on the club’s buddy scheme. The teams consisted of two established members with a newbie. Ladies playing off 20 handicap and under were not allowed drivers and the new ladies were allowed mulligans and a free drop out of bunkers.

The afternoon was fittingly rounded off with tea and cakes and a presentation of prizes. New member Kerry Berber, partnered by Amanda Cook and Wendy Larner came first. An enjoyable afternoon was had by all, and it was an excellent way to help the new members feel part of the club.

Julie Stafford had the best score of the day to win Division 1 of the ladies’ October medal. Emma Bourton was runner-up with Maxine Gardiner third. Lynn Pope won Division 2, closely followed by Cheryl Saunders and Lisa Griffiths. In Division 3, Pat Smith came top, with Lorna Macivor second and Marnie Sweet third.

Pam Jarvis won the weekend medal with Janet Fear runner-up.

The first of the club’s festive season competitions took place with the seniors holding their Christmas bottles Stableford.

Stuart Lock top scored with 43 points to win Division 1. Rob McMillen was runner-up, pipping Dave Treleaven and Nick Extence on countback, each scoring 40.

Roger Leaver won Division 2 with 40 points. Colin Dale was runner-up with 39 and Frank Woolman third on 38.

Weston ladies qualified for the National Golf Club Challenge final for the third time at the prestigious Turnberry Golf Resort in Scotland.

The NGCC supports the On Course Foundation charity which is the only services golf charity supporting the recovery of wounded, injured and sick service personnel and veterans through golf.

The team of Pam Hudson, Katrena Thomas, Kaylee Davey, Jean Cooper and Sally Brosnan competed over two days in challenging weather conditions. Helped by a magnificent score of 34 points from Jean on the final day, they secured second place in the ladies’ final, missing out on the top spot by just one point.

Meanwhile back in Weston, the ladies’ grab a gent event was well supported as always and the results were close.

Nick Bohin and Sue Osman were the winners with 39 points. Sue Garrett and Chris Slocombe were runners-up also with 39. Third to seventh place all scored 38, but Gary Langdale and Cathy Preston took third place by virtue of countback.

The seniors staged the first Alan Holt qualifier. This four-part event sends the first two in each stage through to a knockout round next summer. The winner with a nett 65 was John Atherton. Past captain Steve Corrick was in second place with 67.

A cold autumnal day welcomed the final board competition of the year, with 100 players in the Hood Wright Trophy, presented by the club committee in memory of Donald Hood-Wright in 1966.

Played as a Chinese foursomes, which is a foursomes format with a twist. The overall winner were men’s vice-captain Glenn Taylor and Eddie Langford with 42 points, followed by Ian Hudson and men’s captain Anthony McEvoy, winning on the back nine from Richard Magor and Adam Sloan, also on 40.

Fourth were Andrew Balcombe and Paul O’Hara with 39, again winning on the back nine holes from Steve Burrough and John Greaves.

The autumn sunshine made for some good golfing conditions at Wedmore, with the seniors playing a relaxed bowmaker.

Only getting three-quarter handicap though kept the scoring within bounds and also produced a close finish with just a couple of points covering the top teams.

Third place went to the team of Martin Peakman, John Hurdman and Roy Peck with 74 Stableford points. This was just one point behind the second-placed team of John Vowles, Derek Osborn and Bernard Abbott, who in turn lost out by the same margin to the winners, John Hogan, Ellis Nearn and Geoff Brooks.

Still with the seniors, the last of the summer knockout finals was finally played with Mike Munns and Tony Hoskings just getting the better of John Vowles and James Robertson in a hard-fought match by 2&1.

The ladies played a far more serious medal, although the only serious thing from Gill Jones’ point of view was the reduction in her handicap as stormed to a six-shot win with a five under par nett 67.

Deidre Wheadon was her closest pursuer on 73. Pauline Hale and Chris Simpson both came in on 74, with Hale just taking third place on countback on the back nine. Fifth place went to Jennifer Fell with a nett 75.

Pat Mullholland won the fifth and final round of the seniors’ eclectic with a nett 68, being the only player to beat par on the day.

Mike Allen was runner-up on 70, while Barrie Yearsley took third spot with his 72. When all the round scores were worked out by Dai Wood, the overall winner was declared as Roger Phillips with a staggering nett 48, 21 under par.

There were joint runners-up with both Mike Allen and Wood returning scores of 51. The opening event of the seniors’ winter league was contested two days later and the format was a bloodsome. This is a version of greensomes, but where your opponents choose the ball you take for the second shot so it can certainly test some friendships.

Played over the usual 15 holes, the winners were Ian Welch and Barrie Yearsley with a tidy score of 54. Barrie Tucker and Bob Toller took second with 58.5, just ahead of third-placed Brian Read and Ken Ponter on 59.

Russell Shaw and Murray Parsons won the pairs aggregate medal with a combined total of 137, but only after a countback with Dan and Tom Broom. Parsons handed in a best of the day 65, with Shaw adding a 72, which crucially included a good back nine after he had a poor start.

The Broom’s were more consistent though with Dan the better of the duo by a single stroke with his 68, but lost out on countback. Kevin Davies and Trevor Pitt were third on level par 138.

In the final super series round before the winter break, Pitt was the winner with 40 points. In cool breezy conditions, he won by one from pro shop assistant Jordan Hills. Hills enjoyed his best finish so far in a competition at Brean as he relegated Matt Haskins into third spot with his 38-point return.

The ladies travelled to Cannington for their final game of the season. As always, the game was an enjoyable affair but the hosts came out on top by three games to one. Ladies’ captain Suzanne Hatfield was the Brean point scorer.

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Weston Mercury