Hornets’ golden anniversary

Hornets Rugby Club celebrated its 50th anniversary with a dinner dance at the Winter Gardens.

OVER 420 members and guests attended Hornets Rugby Football Club’s 50th anniversary golden jubilee dinner and dance at the Winter Gardens.

The occasion celebrated the club’s formation nearly 50 years to the day, when a meeting was held in the London Inn on May 15, 1962, and under the guidance of founder father Percy Dimery, the idea of forming a new rugby club in the town was born.

The event attracted former players form many parts of the UK and abroad and also sporting celebrities including Colin Charvis, former Welsh captain, John Bently, British and Irish Lion and Steve Kirby, former Yorkshire and current Somerset cricketer.

A four-course meal was enjoyed by all and following chairman Nigel Richardson’s brief introduction and presentation of various playing awards, former president Peter Costeloe gave an amusing resume of the club’s early days and the reason behind the formation of Hornets Rugby Club.

You may also want to watch:

In particular, he reminded the audience when the club was based at Worle School and subsequently the Golden Lion in Worle, before clubhouse facilities were available at the present Hutton Moor ground.

Neil Cowlin also spoke enthusiastically of the 50 original members of the 1962 season of which nearly 20 were in attendance on the evening. He also pointed out that of the 18 of the 26 club captains were present at the function.

Most Read

These facts highlighted the fantastic club spirit and loyalty, not only of former club players and member, but also the current crop of outstanding young players now representing the Hornets, who have progressed from the early days of two teams to the running of the current 18 sides ranging from under-7s to a veterans and also incorporating a senior and ladies side.

In finishing, Cowlin toasted the club and remembered members past and present, and wished the club continued success in the years to come.

The evening’s entertainment was provided by Beatles tribute band The Cheatles, which was popularly received by all present

The evening saw Chris Disney receive the 1st XV player of the year, Sam Lloyd-Jones was the players’ player. The second team awards went to Alex Milsom and James Lawence, third team winners were Ben Briffit and Simon Owen, and the clubman of the year award was presented to Jenny Cockayne.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus