Ian retains his trophy

IN contrast to the Weston club championships played two weeks previously, the Grand Atlantic was contested in unusually hot and humid conditions, creating added pressure to the contenders.

IN contrast to the Weston club championships played two weeks previously, the Grand Atlantic was contested in unusually hot and humid conditions, creating added pressure to the contenders.

Despite tricky pin positions, the 36-hole medal brought out the best in Ian Hudson, scoring -10 under the two rounds, and being one of an elite group to successfully defend his title. Rodney Hare (Weston) did the same in 1999 and 2000. Ian by far outstretched his opposition, in taking a five-shot lead with 62 and 68.

The course was at its absolute best and showed without doubt to visitors and members alike its greatest challenge for many years.

Congratulations to Adam Sloan in winning the gross competition with two good rounds considering the oppressive conditions of 71 and 69. The top three places in both the nett and gross events were all taken by the some of Weston's highest calibre players.

You may also want to watch:

Grand Atlantic (36 hole nett): Ian Hudson (Weston) 62, 68 = 130; Geof Sinclair (Weston) 70, 65 = 135; Gary Langdale (Weston) 71, 65 = 136.

Centenary Trophy (36 holes gross): Adam Sloan (Weston) 71, 69 = 140; Freddie Ferrari (Weston) 76, 70 = 146; Nathan Bateman (Weston) 68, 78 = 146.

Most Read

PM nett: J Wrench (Bulbury Woods) 63; pm gross, C Butler (Bristol and Clifton) 73; am nett, A Alloway (Long Ashton) 66; am gross, Matt Evans (Weston) 71.

EGU Gold Medal, Division 1: D Whitewood 68 (4) 64; J Fry 76 (11) 65; P Turner 79 (12) 67; A Sloan 67 (1) 68 (lowest gross); J Lane 73 (5) 68; K Trask 77 (8) 69; Adam Royle 78 (9) 70; G Langdale 78 (8) 70; D King 80 (10) 70; E Langford 80 (10) 70; R Magor 76 (5) 71; P Lund 78 (7) 71.

Division 2: Glen Taylor 80 (17) 63 (lowest gross, qualifies for Gold Medal); M Dyer 94 (28) 66; L Walsh 81 (13) 68; S Roberts 91 (22) 69; A Tucker 83 (13) 70; B Hodgson 83 (13) 70; A Morgan 84 (14) 70; J Greaves 88 917) 71; A Hirst 89 (18) 71; D L Bates 86 (15) 71; N Bohin 87 (16) 71; P Eastman 85 (14) 71.

WEDMORE held one of the big days of the year on Saturday when golfers with pretensions to be the best at the club compete in the club championship.

This year's championship was more open than usual with several genuine contenders. This year, unlike the previous, the weather was kind for both rounds and the course in great condition.

The course was set to its full length, there were several tricky pins and these may have accounted for less than brilliant scoring. Darryl Cornelius had an excellent 74 in the morning round, but this was beaten by Tim Harris with a remarkable 72. Both were closely followed by Laurie Olive and Bill Lander.

Scoring in the afternoon, as the wind got up and tiredness set in, proved even more difficult. Darryl and Laurie both slipped backwards, Steve Lockley had the best afternoon round of 77 but Tim Harris continued to play steadily and his 79 was good enough to win the Jackson Trophy for a second time.

Bill Lander had two steady rounds to be runner-up with Steve Heal finishing third.

Tom Bennett was the only player on the day to play both rounds under his handicap and deservedly won the Directors' Cup for the best nett with a two-round total of 134.

Monday night witnessed an innovation for Wedmore in the shape of speed golf. The object of this was to get a golf ball round the course in as short a time as possible. The team of 50-odd players were allocated positions round the course by Tim Harris who promptly hit the opening tee shot unerringly into the pond down the first.

Despite this, and despite premonitions of doom and gloom, it was only 24 minutes 28 seconds later that club captain John Cutter sank the final putt to set a new club record. Rumour has it that the ladies will attempt to beat this later in the year.

Talking of course records, following her close miss two weeks earlier, Fiona Beattie set a new ladies' record, scoring a gross 70 in the club stableford.

BURNHAM and Berrow hosted Captain's Day and a full field competed in teams of three with two scores to count on each hole and all to count on the Par 3s.

The course was presented to championship standard with the Tillman Trophy only three weeks away. The top amateur golfers in the country will be playing and spectators are welcome and while the steady breeze helped on the front nine holes it played havoc on the back.! It is hoped that the Tillman competitors have similar conditions to fully test them.

Nick Fuller, Martyn Milverton and John Whitcutt won with a fine score of 80 points, just one ahead of Peter Amos, Gordon Copley and Peter Sealey. The longest drive at the 11th was achieved by Peter Yensen with Tony Charalambous the nearest to the pin on Hole 17.

The winning ladies' team of Liz Blight, Jane Harries and Jackie Richards scored 74 points with Liz hitting the longest drive and Jane the most accurate tee shot on 17.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus