Jade dominates the prizes at Weston

Jade Cope dominated the prize-giving at Weston Ladies Golf Club, by winning 10 trophies, including the club championship.

AFTER a celebratory Christmas dinner and cabaret evening, lady captain Carol Harris, presented this year’s trophies to fellow members at Weston Golf Club.

The prize presentation was followed by the investiture of the incoming captain for Diane Walker. She was presented by Carol Harris with her honorary green club blazer.

Ladies’ president Elizabeth Cromwell awarded Joan Cumming with the lady president’s brooch. Joan, a former lady captain of the club and a member for over 25 years, was previously both Somerset county captain and president. Joan is now delighted to take on the role of president at her home club.

Jade Cope celebrated with other members of the ladies section after being presented with a record 10 cups this year after a tremendous year of golf for the 18-year-old.

You may also want to watch:

Playing earlier in the year for the junior section, Jade is now a fully fledged member of the ladies section of the club winning the following cups during the season.

Youth and Beauty Shield, Jubilee Award, Lloyd Cup, Putting Championship, Teachers Trophy, Jenny Carter Toast Rack, Margaret Buckley Cup, Betty Butler Cup, Ruth Alford Cup and finally the prestigious club championship.

Most Read

Other cup winners - Barstow Shield: Diane Walker and Reine O’Reilly; Audrey Hirst Cup: Kath Farrant; Sally Irlam Salver: Glenda Latham; Grandmothers Cup: Joan Jenkinson; Half Century Cup: Katrena Thomas; Lillington Bowl: Gay Long; Past Captains Rose Bowl: Diana Brown; Sanders Bowl: Alison Whitewood; Summer Foursomes: Cathy Preston and Anne Meakin.

Margaret Buckley Cup: Moira Parish. Christine Mason and Constance Blackmore Spoons Award: June Phillips; Costeloe Carafe, Brockenshaw Bowl and EWGA Medal Award: Wendy Thomas; Millennium Bronze Award, Miss Apps Salver and Winter Foursomes joint winner: Sally Brosnan. Winter Foursomes partner and joint winner: Vicky Brewin.

Blackmore Bowl, Silver Medal Spoons and Millennium silver award: Sue Andow. Auchterarder Quaich Trophy, Boulton Cup and Bronze Medal Spoons: Patricia Murray.

December competition results: EWGA Medal: Zena Balcombe 82; Jan Bishop 87. EWGA Medal: Melanie Rossi 72; Sue Garrett 75; Angela Cook 76. December Stableford: Alysia Rees 37 pts; Jan Bishop 35; Vicky Brewin 32. December Stableford: Gay Long 37 pts; Melanie Rossi 36.

Pictured are trophy winners 2012 with lady captain Carol Harris, president Elizabeth Cromwell and club champion Jade Cope.

Pictured are lady captain Carol Harris (left) presents incoming captain Diane Walker with her blazer.

DESPITE the wet weather, Weston seniors had a competitive year, culminating in their trophy presentation at their Christmas lunch.

Incoming captain Mike Hill presented the trophies to the winners: Seniors championship: Dave Rowland; Seniors Matchplay Cup: Eddie Langford; Derick Wood Trophy: Peter Lumb; Foursome Plate: Jim Blackhurst & David Andow; Workman Trophy: Richard Fowler; St George Cup: Gordon Robert; Dennis Cup: Alan Harris; Salmon Cup: Alan Harris; Vets Cup: Colin Dummett; Padre (Howlett) Cup: Gordon Robert; Lawley Cup: Colin Dummett; Eric Benn Trophy: Colin Dummett & Dave Reynolds; Jonathan Latham Trophy: Terry Holden; Senior Open: Trevor Knott; Hutton Cup: Les O’Reilly; Alan Holt: Ray Chambers; Senior Captains Trophy: Nick Palmer.

On a sunny day, Weston seniors held a winter Ambrose Scramble with the following results: Tony Cooksley, Ray Chambers, Eddie Langford, Dave Reynolds 61; Ray Harris, Chris Kelly, John Morgan, Graham Tripp 62.4; Dave Farmer, Terry Whybrow, Rob Yeomans 64.3; David Andow, Nick Bohin, Jim Brown, Matthew Duffin 64.4.

Trophy winners with Weston seniors captain Mike Hill.

WORLEBURY Stragglers travelled to Wells to defend the annual Christmas Salver, but the trophy was wrestled from their grasp by a superior home team and they were soundly beaten 4.5-1.5.

Worlebury’s only winners were Stragglers vice-captain Keith Knight and his partner John Jones. John Langdon and Ron Steven managed a fighting half. The photo shows Wells Stragglers vice-captain, Jim Saint (left), receiving the salver from Keith Knight.

EIGHTY-seven children attended the Worlebury Christmas party. The event, organised by Janet Jamieson and her helpers, is now an established feature of the club’s social calendar.

The entertainment was provided by Mr Spangles, the clown and the disco was run by club members, Peter and Mandy Phillips.

THERE was a surprise for the ladies at Wedmore last week as Father Christmas was there to see them off for their Christmas competition.

This was a Bowmaker over nine holes so that the ladies could prepare for their Christmas party in the evening. This made for a close finish, with several teams finishing on 36 points.

The best of these, claiming third place, was Nan Watt, Linda Roberts and Eileen Gillibrand. Two teams were just one ahead on 37. Rachel Lockley, Diana Midgley and Vera Ireland were the runners-up, leaving Trish Phelps, Audrey Cowlin and Sue Spink as the winners on countback.

The seniors held a more serious medal and an outstanding score came in Division 2 where David Russell scored a net 62 to win by 10 shots from Chris McGowan and Jeff Elliott.

There was a much closer finish in Division 1, with Derek Warn just beating John Russell on countback, both scoring an excellent net 65. Tony Glover was third with 69.

The higher handicappers in Division 3 struggled a bit in the wet conditions but a well-constructed 69 from Mac Hargraves deserved to win ahead of Gordon Newbery (72) and Richard Sanders (73).

A smaller field than usual played in the club medal, but there were still some excellent scores. John Melwani and David Eley both scored 65 in Division 1 with Melwani winning on countback. Rich Vowles beat brother James for third place on countback, both scoring 69.

Glen Vearncombe took Division 2, again with 65, one shot better than Dom Channon with Martin Olive third on 73. Division 3 went to R Carter, beating Dan Sarjant on countback , both scoring 67. Daniel Milford was a shot further back in third.

NO player topped the 40 point mark in the December monthly Stableford played at Brean Golf Club.

Best scores on the day came in Division 2 as Ian Adams and Mark Elvins both managed 39 apiece, with Adams winning on countback. Thirty-seven points won both other divisions with Murray Parsons taking the top flight and Gordy Wheelaghan taking the Division 3 prize. Barrie Tucker and Roger Phillips were the respective runners-up in those divisions.

The second round of the Winter League saw a runaway winner. Late starter Mark Hatfield compiled an excellent score of 45 points. Second place was taken by the Pete Dunn, one clear of Steve Foy.

The seniors played another Winter League when the format of the day was a three-man Texas scramble. The leading trio consisted of Barrie Tucker, Dai Wood and Ian Raymond with nett score of 59.5, giving then a slight advantage over the next couple of teams.

Just 0.2 of a shot behind in second were Barrie Yearsley, Tony Walker and Roy Snell and they in turn relegated Roger Phillips, Roger Williams and Ken Ponter into third after a countback.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter