Jim plays his part on his debut

Banwell defeat Winscombe to close to gap at the top.

BANWELL’S Jim Fairall made his belated debut for the first team after being injured just before the start of the season.

Banwell won the toss and elected to bowl on a drying pitch. Fairall and Dom Bush opened the bowling and restricted Winscombe’s scoring.

It took an excellent ball from Bush to bowl Vowles (11). Bush struck again two overs later, bowling Andow, but Sage and Bailey settled in for Winscombe until Bailey (23) was run out by a direct hit, again from Bush.

The Winscombe innings then revolved around Bawden (53 not out), but a steady progression of wickets, especially after the reintroduction of Fairall (11-1-32-3) meant Banwell restricted Winscombe to 200-9 from their 45 overs.

You may also want to watch:

Mark Biggs was again a major factor in keeping the runs down, collecting final figures of 12-3-32-1.

Banwell’s innings did not get off to a good start. Biggs spooned a catch and Dan Borrett was bowled by Warren, leaving Banwell 16-2. Dave Eckett and Chris Langley put on 57 for the next wicket until Langley was bowled for 23.

Most Read

At 73-3 in the 20th over, the momentum was just swinging Banwell’s way when Eckett (42) was bowled by Mayne (9-0-43-2) to restore parity.

D Pye and Bebber applied pressure to the Winscombe field by committing to running quick singles, but Bebber (20) was run out by Bailey. Nick Wilson (25 not out) joined Pye (62 not out) to complete the successful run chase.

Division 8

W L D Pts

Winscombe 2 3 2 1 160

Temple Cloud 2 4 1 0 153

Spaxton 4 1 0 143

Banwell & Churchill 3 1 1 139

Evercreech 2 3 1 118

Wembdon Wyverns 2 3 0 114

Peasedown St John 1 3 1 96

Chilton Polden 1 3 1 85

All Saints 0 3 1 62

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus