Ladies celebrate promotion

Winscombe Ladies enjoyed a night of celebration at their end-of-season awards dinner.

MORE than 60 members of a local hockey club, including current players, honorary members, alumni and umpires enjoyed a night of celebration at the end-of-season awards dinner held at Winscombe Cricket Club.

Winscombe Ladies Hockey Club, who play and train at Hans Price Academy in Weston, were also celebrating their first team’s promotion from Sedgemoor 1. The second team finished a close-run third in Sedgemoor 2 and just missed out on a promotion place.

Awards - club member of the year: Jo Hann (chairman); honorary members: Ray Robbetts and Tracey Lucas (umpires).

First XI - player of the year: Michelle Isgar; players’ player of the year: Sophie James; top goal scorer: Sarah Holland; squad member of the year: Kelly Clarke.

You may also want to watch:

Second XI - player of the year: Trudie Lynham; players’ player of the year: Vicky Calder; top goal scorer: Becky Mathews; squad member of the year: Lucy James.

3rd XI - player of the year: Sarah Kempster; players’ player of the Year: Jodie Honour; top goal scorer: Amy Knapman; squad member of the year: Vicky Look.

Most Read

Players of all standards and levels plus junior players (Under-13s) are invited to a free taster session when training resumes for the new season in July. New players receive half-price membership for a year.

Please e-mail Gail Izzard at for further information.

Front (left to right): Michelle Isgar, Sophie James, Kelly Clark (1st XI captain). Back: Amy Knapman, Vicky Look, Jodie Honour, Becky Mathews, Lucy James, Vicky Calder (2nd XI captain), Trudie Lynham, Jo Hann, Sarah Kempster, Ray Robbetts.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter