Michael wins bogey trophy at Weston

Worlebury Golf Club.

Worlebury Golf Club. - Credit: Archant

Michael Jamieson won the Don Rowland Trophy at Weston Golf Club on countback from Andy Smith.

THE damp start did not deter 87 Weston Golf Club players competing for the Don Rowland Trophy.

The weather soon improved and brought in some great scores for the bogey competition. In first place was Michael Jamieson with +4 with Andy Smith in second place, also with +4. Close behind was Ian Freeman (+3) and Chris Homer (+2).

The nine-hole men’s Stableford was won by Ian Ross with 37 points. Second place went to Bryon Davies with 32 and Ron Owen was third, also with 32.

The Tuesday ladies’ Stableford competition was won by Moira Parish with an impressive 38 points. Zena Balcombe was second with 36, followed by Tessa Pitt (35) and Angela Cook (34).

You may also want to watch:

The ladies’ Saturday Stableford was won by Zena Balcombe with 35 points, ahead of Kath Farrant (34) and Tessa Pitt, also with 34.

The A team gained six valuable points playing away at Henbury. The team remain midway in the first division.

Most Read

The ladies B team played their last Alliance match of the season at home against Long Ashton, finishing with an excellent 11-3 win. Team captain Zena Balcombe congratulated the squad for their commitment and effort throughout the season.

The ladies’ friendly team also played their last fixture of the season away at Minehead returning a 3-2 win to end a successful year. Captain Mel Rossi thanked all members for participating throughout the season.

The mixed match enjoyed an honourable half in warm autumnal sunshine for their away fixture against Wedmore.

SIXTY Worlebury members took to the road for the captain’s annual away day, which was held at the Vale Golf Club near Cardiff.

The winners were Darrell James and Mark Puddy with 42 points. Mark’s two birdie twos went a long way towards securing their victory. Second with 40 points were club professional, Gary Marks and captain, Paul Gardiner.

Third with 39 points on countback were Pete Nuttall and Matin Philp, who pipped club managing secretary Andy Horsburgh and Mick McManners into fourth place.

A sweepstake to predict the number of balls that would be lost during the day was won by vice-captain, Pete Phillips, who took the £60 purse for best guess.

The annual captain versus vice-captain match was a close run affair played in ideal conditions after a damp start.

This fixture tends to favour the vice-captain and this year proved no exception with Pete Phillips’s team taking the honours. The result was in doubt to the end and the decisive moment came when president Keith Wharton, hit a snaking 40-foot putt on the final hole for a vital half. This gave the vice-captain victory by seven matches to six.

There was a good turnout for the Bert Dunstan Salver, a competition played in pairs. Scoring was extremely good with winners, the experienced, Rob Berry and Ken Hanson having a better ball score of 58 nett and winning on countback from the young pairing of Alex Winn and Jack Partridge.

Craig Conway and Will Denyer came third with 61, beating Paul Simmonds and Danny Marshall by one shot.

The seniors also had a full field for their monthly medal. Division 1 was won by Tony Foster with a nett 66. Mike Parfitt came second on countback from John Sokol, both scoring nett 67s. Countback decided Division 2, with Bob Watts pipping Nick Rowden, their 66s beating Ken Lohmann into third by two shots.

AFTER so much dry weather, it was a shock for rain to interrupt play for the monthly Stableford at Wedmore, but after a brief delay for the greens to clear, play resumed as did the majority of the players.

Leading the way in Division 1 was Graham Sugg, scoring 39 points to win his division by two points from Ben Barwell, with Mike Garbutt third on 34.

There was a tight finish to Division 2 with John Vowles, David Bates and Bob Jones all finishing with 37 points. Countback on the back nine gave first place to Vowles with Bates in second and Jones third.

Best score of the day came in Division 3 with Jonathon Raeside scoring 40 points, which put him four clear of Max Grant and Paul Stevenson, with Grant taking second place on countback.

Friday saw the holding of the county autumn meeting at Wedmore and Terry Clark took full advantage of playing his home course to win with 41 points.

Despite some good performances from other Wedmore players, they were not quite good enough to win the team prize, just missing out by a single point.

The ladies were playing away with a visit to the Bristol. A good time was had by all which made the result almost superfluous, but for the record, the winning bowmaker team was Sue Hughes, Jenny Thomas, Margaret Rogers and Jane Hewitt, who scored 77 points.

WORLEBURY’S Jill Phillips held her lady president’s day in superb conditions.

The ladies played a Texas scramble, while Jill provided refreshments under a gazebo on the eighth tee.

The day was much enjoyed and results were: 1st with nett 55 2/3, Marnie Sweet, Sue Kinch, Rita Tooley 55.66; Hazel Cox, Trish Smith, Eunice McAdams 58.33; Emma Bourton, Sylvia Cook, Maureen Williams 59.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter