Presentation evening at Weston

WESTON held a presentation ceremony for the senior trophy winners of the year, hosted by the senior captain elect Roy Schubert.

WESTON held a presentation ceremony for the Senior trophy winners of the year, hosted by the senior captain elect Roy Schubert, where close to 80 seniors and the guests, who included the club captain, chairman and professional.

Winners were: Derick Wood Trophy, J P Latham; Foursomes Plate, K Hood and I Freeman; Workman Trophy, I Freeman; St George Trophy, D Rowland; Dennes Cup, P Owen; Salmon Cup, J. Banfield; Veterans Cup, B Brown; Lawley Cup, P Alcock; Padre Trophy, A Wyatt; Alan Holt Trophy, R Skelley; Match Play Cup, T Whybrow; Eric Benn Foursomes, G Somerville and J Poole; Seniors Championship, D Rowland; Senior Captain's Trophy, P Lumb; Seniors Open, T Waite; Hutton Cup, M McKee.

The last seniors' competition of the year brought the hardy players out into a crisp and frosty morning.

Although played to temporary greens it was quite a fun game, Alan Tucker producing the best score of 72 gross, a nett 59 to take first prize.

You may also want to watch:

Results: A. Tucker 72 (13) 59; J Poole 81 (21) 60; A Cooksley 82 (20) 62; T Holden 77 (13) 64; T Waite75 (10) 65 (on count-back last six); R Teagle 81 (16) 65; R Fowler 83 (18) 65; W Raynham 91 (25) 66 (on count-back last nine).

Weston Ladies held their end of year dinner recently.

Most Read

The first part of the evening consisted of an excellent Christmas meal provided by the club's catering staff which was thoroughly enjoyed by all.

During the year, the ladies had played for more than 30 different trophies which were presented to the winners by ladies' president Christine Dodgson during the evening.

A cabaret to thank outgoing captain Alysia Rees for all her efforts on behalf of the section during her year provided the finishing touch to what had been a most enjoyable and memorable evening.

BREAN member Nigel Ellis made the lengthy trip over from his South Wales home to play in the first competition of 2010, the New Year's Trophy, which is run in conjunction with the January Medal.

His trip was certainly worthwhile as he handed in an almost unbelievable score of nett 53. The 18 handicapper was helped by the fact that the course was using temporary greens due to the overnight frost, but he still managed to match par with his gross score. This easily secured the silverware for him on a day of low scoring all round.

The award for the unluckiest man of the day must go to Mike Parfitt as he handed in a nett 60 but still did not even win his division as Ellis surpassed him. Sixty was also the winning score in the Third Division and this came from Tony Romeo as he claimed the Medal.

Runner-up to Romeo was Gordon Wheelaghan after his nett 63. Two Steves battled it out for the top spot in Division One with Steve Peates just edging out Steve Bateman. Both players managed to beat par with their gross scores but Peates' nett 61 was one better than Bateman's.

The latest Super Series Order of Merit finally got up and running on Sunday after many false starts due to the inclement weather. Taking an early lead in the standings was Pete Barton after a best of the day 45 points. This also claimed the first prize in Division One ahead of Murray Parsons on 43. Division Two was much closer and required a count-back to separate the top three. Tony Roper, Steve Moore and Mike Carter recorded 44 points, but Carter, continuing his recent good form, had the better back to win. Moore beat Roper for second spot.

Another piece of silverware was decided at the weekend as the final of the Ladies' Winter Singles Matchplay was played. In a close match Tina Bateman beat Jenny Vaughan 2 and 1 as the match finished on the 17th green.

The Christmas Open reached its conclusion on New Year's Eve but as has been commonplace recently it was also affected by the poor weather. The intended running Stableford format had to be changed as varying amounts of temporary greens were in use each day. The winner on the opening day of the event, which attracted a good sized entry, was R Sully from Oake Manor with 39 points. He beat Mike Carter into second by a point with Eamonn Wynne beating Mike Porter on count-back for third on 37.

Best score of the week came from Graham Foy who scored a massive 48 points as he took Monday's daily prizes. Another player to taste victory was Chris Fairchild as his round of 41 points took Thursday's daily prize.

Christmas Open, Sunday: R Sully (Oake Manor) 39 points; M Carter 38; E Wynne 37. Monday: G Foy 48; G Wheelaghan 47; M Carter 46. Thursday: C Fairchild 41; E Wynne 40; S Mason 39.

Monthly Medal/New Year's Trophy: Division One: Steve Peates 68 (7) 61; Steve Bateman 66 (4) 62; Andy Pollard77 (8) 69. Division Two: Nigel Ellis 71 (18) 53; Mike Parfitt 74 (14) 60; Brian Read 78 (17) 61. Division Three: Tony Romeo 85 (25) 60; Gordon Wheelaghan 89 (26) 63; Ian Adams 86 (20) 66.

Super Series, Division One: Pete Barton 45 points; Murray Parsons 43; Steve Peates 42. Division Two: Mike Carter 44; Steve Moore 44; Tony Roper 44.

ISLE of Wedmore enties for Boxing Day and New Year's Day competitions were low again this year. This did not prevent some good scores in the cold and frosty conditions from those who did take part. The Boxing Day Competition was a four-person Bowmaker. The team of Jan Jenkins, Judy Cutter, John Russell and John Cutter stormed to a convincing 11-point victory. Not too surprising when of only four twos recorded, John Russell scored two and Jan Jenkins one of the others.

The other two came from Chris McKinley, new to club competitions, who was in the three-man team which came third overall. Runners-up were the team of Martin Wilyman, Don Channon, Steve Kidd and Rob Davis.

It was an unlucky week for Don and Martin as they were runners-up again on New Year's Day. Their four ball better ball score of 38 Stableford points left them three points behind Tony and Claire Biggs. Ange Thorp and Brian Webber were a further three points back in third.

Following the firework display at the club's successful party the night before, there were few fireworks and no twos in this competition. However, on Saturday Bill Lander set the hole-in-one count for the year rolling with an ace at the par three sixteenth during his club pairs knock-out match.

The club finally got its full compliment of captains for the year on Sunday when at a general meeting, Andrew Midgley was confirmed as captain for his second stint in the role. Those of us who remember his first year know just what to expect again this time.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus