Prizegiving at Cheddar

Cheddar Valley Rifle Club held its AGM and prizegiving at the Fat Fox Restaurant.

THIS year’s Cheddar Valley Rifle Club AGM and prizegiving was held at the Fat Fox Restaurant and was well attended by members.

Before the formal proceedings, a minute’s silence was held in memory of vice-president John Ham who died earlier in the year.

The various officers reported on the clubs performance in their specific areas and it was noted by the treasurer, Don Lee, that the finances were in good condition.

Badges for the best monthly shooters in both the Somerset and Bristol & District winter leagues were won by Mike Griffin, Simon Ellis, Dave Oatley, Pete Jones and Tony Thwaite.

You may also want to watch:

In the handicap events, the ladies’ was won by Barbara Griffin with Ruth Bell and Pat Williams joint runners-up and Keith Thickett took the men’s competition with Dave Oatley a close second.

There are several team events in the club calendar. This year’s Ken Lane Trophy was won by Alex Thwaite, Simon Ellis and Dave Oatley, who beat Gaynor Avery, Bob Abbott and Rick Saunders by just one point.

Most Read

The Mad Hatters Duo came down to two regular rivals. Keith Thickett scored 98, but was just pipped by Dave Oatley with 99.

The Battle of the Sexes ended as a draw after three rounds so the ladies’ team of Pat Williams, Ruth Bell, Barbara Griffin and Gaynor Avery were declared the winners as they had the highest handicap score to start with.

The H Leonard Williams Trophy, best of 10 cards, was won by Alex Thwaite and the pair’s competition was won by Simon Ellis and Tony Thwaite.

The Captains Cup which is for the most improved shooter over the previous year was presented to Rick Saunders. The best outdoor shooter at 50 metres was Mike Griffin, who again collected the Peter Crandon Trophy.

Overall, members shot 44 possibles (10 out of 10 bulls on any one card) and Mike Griffin was top of the scorers with 17 of the 44, followed by Keith Thickett with 15. Others included Trevor Paisey, Ruth Bell, Dave Oatley and Gaynor Avery.

Finally, the group of Bell, Thickett, Oatley and Griffin fought it out to establish the Golden Shot with six groups and six rapids (10 shots in 90 seconds) and Mike Griffin took this honour as well as the club champion which also includes six best scores.

Cheddar Valley Rifle Club is an established and fully approved 0.22 calibre target rifle shooting club with their own 25 yard indoor range in the village. All equipment needed is provided by the club. The club is open Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings between 7.30-11pm.

Anyone interested in trying the sport should contact the secretary on 01934 518098.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus