The ‘unplayable’ patch which postponed Weston’s cup dream

The spot deemed unfit for play by referee Tim Robinson.

The spot deemed unfit for play by referee Tim Robinson. - Credit: Archant

THIS is the spot which spawned all the controversy in yesterday’s (Saturday) postponed FA Cup tie between Weston and Doncaster Rovers.

A Doncaster fan who invaded the pitch is led away by police.

A Doncaster fan who invaded the pitch is led away by police. - Credit: Archant

Despite both managers insisting they were happy for the game to go ahead, match referee Tim Robinson called off the tie in front of a packed house at the Woodspring Stadium just 20 minutes before kick-off, due to the condition of the small area of the pitch in front of the NK Stand.

Mr Robinson conducted a number of pitch inspections throughout the day in the build up to the game, and told the BBC’s Football Focus the pitch was ‘80 per cent playable’ shortly before 1pm.

The decision sparked anger from the travelling Doncaster fans, with a round trip from their home ground to the Woodspring Stadium a round trip eclipsing 400 miles, and one mounted the pitchside hoardings in an attempt to attack a photographer taking pictures of the away end.

Another made his way onto the pitch but was arrested and led away by police.

You may also want to watch:

One witness told the Mercury: “The atmosphere did turn pretty nasty for a while after the match was called off, but credit to the police; they don’t get a lot of crowd trouble at the Woodspring, but they did a really good job controlling the Doncaster fans and calming the situation.”

Weston have announced the match will now be played on November 18, kick-off 7.45pm, with all tickets from the originally-scheduled tie valid.

The decision also means the Seagulls will be in the hat for the FA Cup second round draw live on BBC Two at 7pm tomorrow (Monday), which will again be broadcast live from the Woodspring Stadium. Weston and Doncaster will enter the draw as ball number 12.

Most Read

The second round draw numbers in full:

1 Mansfield Town/Concord Rangers

2 Colchester United

3 Yeovil Town

4 York City/AFC Wimbledon

5 Walsall/Shrewsbury Town

6 Notts County/Accrington Stanley

7 Bradford City

8 Warrington Town

9 Eastleigh

10 Telford/Basingstoke Town

11 Southport/Dag & Red


13 Peterborough United

14 Cheltenham Town

15 Dartford

16 Chesterfield

17 Wycombe Wanderers

18 Bristol City

19 Portsmouth/Aldershot Town

20 Gateshead

21 Sheffield United/Crewe Alexandra

22 Oxford United

23 Tranmere Rovers

24 Chester

25 Luton Town

26 Stevenage/Maidstone

27 Bury

28 Cambridge United

29 Rochdale/Northampton Town

30 Dover Athletic

31 MK Dons

32 Wrexham

33 Plymouth Argyle

34 Barnsley

35 Hartlepool United

36 Worcester City

37 Oldham Athletic

38 Havant & Waterlooville/Preston North End

39 Blyth Spartans

40 Scunthorpe United

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter