Three awards for Kane

Seagulls make their annual awards to players.

IMMEDIATELY after their final game of the season against Braintree Town, Weston Football Club held the annual presentation evening in the Social Club.

Master of ceremonies was club secretary Richard Sloan and grace was said before the buffet meal by the club chaplain the Rev Heather Williams.

In his opening remarks, Mr Sloan paid tribute to the players and the management for a successful season. “This was the first time Craig Laird and his assistant John Haile had managed at this level of football and we all agree they did a magnificent job of coaching a squad of players from two leagues lower to a comfortable position in the Blue Square South League.

“In the process, they shocked many teams with their brand of attacking football, including scoring seven goals against high-flying Bromley, while their encounter with Woking was considered one of the best games ever played on their ground.”

You may also want to watch:

Mr Sloan also paid tribute to the club’s Under-18s and Under-19s squads, managed by Ryan Northmore, who successfully competed in the Somerset Floodlit League and the Conference Youth Alliance where they met sides that included Crawley Town, Rushton and Diamonds, Cambridge United, Bromley, Dartford, Histon, AFC Wimbledon among others.

Clubman of the year was awarded to long-serving chairman of the supporters’ club Richard Lenihan; supporters’ player was leading scorer Kane Ingram; supporters’ club player was goalkeeper Lloyd Irish; manager’s player Brett Trowbridge and players’ player was Ben Kirk.

Most Read

First team coach and manager of the Under-18s and 19s, Ryan Northmore was presented with a long service award and skipper Craig Rand was given an award as the longest playing member of the club.

The players’ player for the Under-18s was Jake Mawford; most improved player in the Under-18s was M Bail; players’ player for the Under-19s was Jermaine Jones; most improved player in the Under-19s was Tom Patrick. The Under-18s squad were also presented with their trophies f or winning the Somerset Floodlit League Cup.

The away supporters group gave the April player of the month to Ben Kirk; Craig Rand picked up the award for most recipients of the man of the match award; away goal of the season was given to Kane Ingram for his strike against Hampton and Richmond; the best new signing was Lloyd Irish; young player of the season was Sahr Kabba and player of the season was Kane Ingram.

In conclusion, the chairman of the club, Mr Paul Bliss, thanked the management team and players for their efforts and hoped they could continue this form in future seasons.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus