Two Bristol Alliance awards for Glenda

WESTON ladies’ first team captain Glenda Latham was recently awarded the prestigious Bristol Alliance Trill Cup.

WESTON ladies’ first team captain Glenda Latham was recently awarded the prestigious Bristol Alliance Trill Cup.

This cup is presented to the highest point scorer in the Division 2 of the Bristol Alliance League throughout the 2010 season. Glenda also secured the Constance Blackmore Spoons which is a club award for the highest points scored by an individual A team member in the Alliance League during the year.

Anne Meakin was the winner of the ladies’ county Jennings Cup for best gross score in the Somerset Ladies Golf Association (vets), a competition played at Weston.

Cathy Preston secured the Adams Grass Roots County Trophy, winning with a nett 67. This trophy is awarded for the best gross score in a medal competition across the county in the month of July for handicaps 29-36.

You may also want to watch:

The Lloyd Cup which is awarded for the six best nett scores over the last 12 months was won by Alysia Rees. In second place was Katrina Thomas, followed by Sue Andow, Pam Hudson and Angela Cook.

Pat Rowland won the Christine Mason singles matchplay competition. This is a knockout event played throughout the summer months. Runner-up was lady captain Sue Radcliffe.

Most Read

Weston Ladies A team have had a successful 2010 competition season, narrowly missing promotion to Division 1 of the Alliance by only two points. Weston Ladies B team maintained its position in Division 4 after some good wins throughout the season.

EWGA Medal & Final Spoons competition: Beryl Robert 70 (back nine), Alison Whitewood 70, Sue Andow 75, Sue Mardell 75.

Stableford & 5th Millennium Qualifier: Caroline Poole 43, Mel Rossi 36, Angela Cook 35, Sue Garrett 35 pts.

? ANOTHER cold start greeted 58 Weston seniors for this bogey competition. The competition was won on countback by Chris Kelly with +5 off a handicap of 21. A close second was Jim Ness also with +5 off a handicap of 16.

Other leading scores: John Banfield +4; Peter Hardaway +4; John Poole +4; Graham Somerville +3; Nigel Jillings +2; Tony Willis +2.

? SATURDAY at Wedmore saw the finale of the 2010 Challenge.

This has been a year long competition devised by Paul Plume, the prizes being six trips to Celtic Manor to play the Ryder Cup course. Sixty-three players made it to the final, all trying to claim one of the six best scores for a place at Celtic Manor.

There was also a trophy for the best score of the day and this went to Nick Parker, whose score of 39 points was two clear of the rest of the field. The next four places went to Bill Wallace, Dave Clements and John Wormald. Eunice Bond scored 36 points to ensure her qualification.

This left four players all on 36 points competing for just one final place. This was settled by a play-off in the dark on the 18th hole, which was won by Brad Ruddick, who beat Darryl Cornelius and Peter Rowntree. David Myers was unable to get back for the play-off.

This was not the end of proceedings. Throughout the summer, a holiday in Portugal had been on offer for a hole-in-one on the 18th. The prize went unclaimed and therefore was given to the winner of a chipping contest, competed for by about a 100 players after the meal on Saturday night. Tim Harris was the long time leader before a chip to 14 inches clinched the prize for Chris Norris.

On Monday, seniors’ captain David Russell and director Ken Abraham challenged other seniors in a competition for charity.

Only two pairs bettered their score. Peter Laney and Ron Walton won with 43 points, Chris Scott and Graham Jones (40) came second with Phil Incledon and Tony Biggs (38) coming third on countback. The MS Therapy Unit in Nailsea benefited by another �156.

? ERIC Jones secured victory in the Tom Childs Memorial Flag competition at Brean on Sunday as he managed to get his golf ball further around the course than any of the other 51 entrants.

The format allows each competitor to have 71 shots (par for the course) plus their handicap allowance as they attempt to move their ball as far as possible before the shots run out.

Jones blitzed around the 18 holes in nett 65 and then used his six remaining shots to finish in the hole at the first on his second circuit.

Club captain Steve Bateman ended just a few feet away from the hole after a superb second shot and Dave Jones was third a few yards back down the fairway.

The ladies’ event didn’t reach the full distance and the winner was Joan Lawrence. Following her Stableford success last week, she moved her ball to the hole on the 17th, which none of the other ladies could match.

In a weekend of varied competitions, the previous day had seen the Bogey Trophy competed for.

Some of the later starters escaped the worst of the wet weather and featured prominently in the winners circle. Jordan Harris finished with a score of 0 to take the silverware, followed by Dave Bradley and Julien Stephens in second and third on -1.

The weather has also played a part in the seniors’ competitions over the past seven days. The temporary greens were called into action after an overnight frost and this affected play in the seniors’ eclectic’s final round. Leader Tony Roper had a best of the day nett 68 and his nearest challenger Roger Phillips was the runner-up.

The seniors’ Medal was won by Charlie Doherty with an excellent nett 71. He won by two shots from Mike Allen, who in turn was two clear of Roger Phillips in third.

Brean’s Director of Golf David Haines shared second place in the latest Gloucester and Somerset PGA Medal at Stinchcombe Hill in Gloucestershire last week.

His two under par score of 66 tied with three others, but was three more than the winners score. The result did, however, take him into an early tie for the lead in the Order of Merit, which he has won on two previous occasions. Andrew March finished well down the field after a 72.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter