Uphill A team continue their unbeaten run

Uphill Badminton Club A team.

Uphill Badminton Club A team. - Credit: Archant

Uphill Badminton Club’s A team remain unbeaten after a derby victory against Wyvern A.

UPHILL Badminton Club’s A team kept up their winning ways away to Wyvern A.

Uphill dominated the match with accurate serving, coupled with finishing which denied Wyvern from taking advantage of many scoring opportunities.

There was a little resistance in the third mixed doubles of the match in which Wyvern’s Jane Burslow and Rob Furlong lost 2-1 to Uphill’s Becky Halfpenny and Mark Edwards 14-21, 21-13, 12-21 as Uphill ran out 9-0 winners.

This extends Uphill A team’s winning run to six matches, remaining unbeaten so far in the league.

You may also want to watch:

Uphill men’s team played at home to league leaders Mendipway, who swept to a 6-0 victory in straight games, outplaying Uphill in all sectors of the courts.

Andrew Mullen, Simon Denton, Chris Ashworth and Adam Feather of Mendipway showed their class on the night.

Most Read

Uphill fielded Dennis Tsang, who represented the club for the first time. Dennis said: “I hadn’t realised how different playing matches was compared to club night badminton, but I really enjoyed my first match.” The rest of the team consisted of Tony Wilsher-Day, Nigel Judge and Ian Gilmore.

Uphill B team played at home in a return fixture against Fry’s B team in a long hard-fought match, as six out of the nine rubbers went to three games, ending in Fry’s winning 7-2, resulting in Uphill’s first loss of the season.

Uphill’s team of Becky Falswaller, Emily Page-Symmonds, Steph Hancock, Robin Curry, Rob Murray and Tom Higgins all played very well in the match. Excellent badminton was played by Higgins, who won his mixed with Hancock and narrowly lost his men’s doubles by the narrowest of margins.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus