Wedmore ladies win league title for first time in decades

PUBLISHED: 09:03 05 August 2016 | UPDATED: 09:03 05 August 2016

Wedmore Tennis Club ladies.

Wedmore Tennis Club ladies.


Wedmore Tennis Club ladies' A team won the summer league title for the first time in decades, losing just one game out of 10.

Wedmore Tennis Club has enjoyed a successful summer league season, with the ladies’ A team topping Division 1 for the first time in decades.

The team, captained by Ines Beeson, with Annabel Richardson, Nicky Attwood and Clare Gass, finished top by five points, winning nine out of the 10 matches.

The B team, captained by Tess Hodgson, newly promoted to division 1, were relegated, having finished bottom of the division.

The C team captained by Jenny Fitzpatrick, topped Division 4 by a margin of six points after winning nine games, recording their second successive promotion.

The D and E teams in Division 5 struggled, with the E side winning just enough points to stay up, but the D team were relegated.

The newly-formed F team had a fantastic first season and missed out on promotion by just one point.

The men’s A team (John Cooksley, Craig Phillips, Matt Drew, Ben Wylie and James Mitchell) won Division 1 for the second year running with the loss of only two points.

The B team captained by Rob Sweet, with Baz Attiwell, Ken Thie, James Knight and Kieron Davies, with assistance on occasion from others, achieved a remarkable second place in Division 2 and will join the A team next year in the top division.

The C team valiantly captained by Mark Jackson were relegated from Division 2. Due to injuries, they had very few players throughout the season and had to borrow from other teams.

The D team captained by David Evans stormed to promotion into Division 5, with staunch help from Clive Ross returning from injury, Steve Randall, Callum Scott, Tom Baker and the brothers Jamieson.

The E team captained from afar by Bill Haley, but guided with typical aplomb by Bill Litherland, with help from Sam Mullick, Bryant Cradock, Ian Lewis, Dick Campion and others, finished a credible fourth in the bottom division.

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Weston Mercury