Weston Athletic Club celebrate a year of achievements

PUBLISHED: 09:04 17 February 2017 | UPDATED: 09:04 17 February 2017

Weston Athletic Club awards.

Weston Athletic Club awards.


One hundred and fifty Weston Athletic Club members gathered at the Royal Hotel for a night of celebration, marking the many and varied achievements of club members throughout the year.

A three-course meal was followed by an opening address from the club’s chairman Ian Carpenter, who then invited guest of honour Mina Holder to speak.

In 2015, Mina became the first woman to run the Te Araroa trail - a 2,031-mile route along the length of New Zealand. Mina’s inspirational story proved that anything really is possible if you work hard enough.

Ian handed over to Jim Wotton who presided over the awards ceremony. Jim gave a round-up of the club’s year of running before moving onto the awards themselves.

The winners were - most improved female runner: Jo Coveney; male: Stuart Diamond; best 5k handicap runner: Mark Hill; Barry Hotlegs award: won jointly by Stuart Diamond and John Hinchliffe; Ginnie Hotlegs award: Jo Coveney; female road championship: Helen Diamond, Niki Fulstow, Gerry Hope; (senior): Michelle Fryer; over-35: Jo Coveney; over-45: Lesley Bowskill; over-55: Julie Shergold.

Male road championship winner: Kieron Summers, Steve Kibblewhite, Richard Brent; senior: Chris McMillan; over-40: Stuart Diamond; over-50: Marc Whiting;

over-60: John Hinchliffe.

Female off-road championship winner: Niki Fulstow; Helen Diamond; Julia Withers; senior: Michelle Fryer; over-35: Jo Coveney; over-45: Sian Roberts; over-55: Julie Shergold. Male off-road championship winner: Paul Snelling; Matt Wheeler; John Hinchliffe; senior: Chris McMillan; over-40: Stuart Diamond; over-50: Pete Bartlett; over-60: Jim Wotton.

Female championship overall winner: Niki Fulstow; male: Kieron Summers; head coach female performance award: Sara Butcher; male: Chris McMillan;

2016 achievement award: Paul Snelling.

Female triathlon championship winner: Jules Pflaum; male: Nick Cook; triathlete of the year: Simon Andrews; female marathon trophy: Phil Richards; male: Kieron Summers; Hart/Snelling marathon cup: Nick Briffitt; president’s club person of the year: Mark Hill; chairman’s award: awarded jointly to Cheryl Valentine and Kevin Hudson; you’ve been framed award: Darren Abbots.

As well as the main awards, 56 club members achieved their fastest times at the Weston five-mile prom run in 2016, and each of them was awarded with a commemorative medal.

Follow the club on Twitter @Weston AC and on Facebook /westonathleticclub

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Weston Mercury

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists