Winscombe Ladies awards night and annual dinner

PUBLISHED: 14:50 02 May 2018 | UPDATED: 14:50 02 May 2018

Winscombe Hockey Club award winners.

Winscombe Hockey Club award winners.


Winscombe Ladies Hockey Club had plenty to celebrate at its annual dinner and award evening.

It was a special night of celebrations at Winscombe Ladies Hockey Club annual dinner as speeches and awards were followed by a great party to mark a milestone in their history with the promotion of its first team to Premier 2 and new fifth team completing its first season in the league.

There was also a special presentation made to Bernie Richardson, long-serving and much loved coach who was made an honorary member of the club.

On presenting Bernie with his award, chairman Jo Hann, asked all those in the packed room to stand-up if they had been coached by Bernie - as a whole, virtually the entire room rose to its feet with loud applause.

Special congratulations were reserved for first team coach Carolyn Rolleston and all the squad members on their promotion to Premier 2 next season.

“We know that playing in Premier 2 will be a big step up for everyone next season, but I am confident that this squad of players will rise to the challenge” said first team captain Kate Dennis.

“Tonight, however, is a time for celebrating winning promotion and the achievements of everyone associated with the club,” she added.

Everyone at the club would like to offer their thanks and gratitude to all the coaches, umpires, club officers, parents and grandparents for their amazing support throughout the year.

The club would particularly like to thank chairman Jo Hann, whose tireless hard work, vision and commitment has ensured the on-going success of the club.

Award winners - club member of the year: Jo Horwood; 1st XI player of the year: Caroline Marsh; squad member of the year: Gabby Richardson and Holly Tyson; players’ player of the year: Kelly Clark; leading goal-scorer: Hannah Taylor.

2nd XI: Cara Ellis; Juju O’Sullivan; Lucy Knapman; Becky Matthews. 3rd XI: Maddy Bawden; Helen Sinclair and Maddy Bawden; Issy Morgan; Helen Sinclair.

4th XI: Erin Watkins; Kat Dee; Katy McKay; Lynsey Lawrence. 5th XI: Erin Crofts; Michelle Ho; Abbey Bewley; Isla Skudder. Cherida ‘Sniffer’ Stobart Trophy for the Under-18 player of the year: Imogen Marsh.

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Weston Mercury

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists