Youth awards presented at Weston

WESTON Cricket Club youth section had another triumphant season in 2008, with both the oldest and the youngest teams having the most overall success.

WESTON Cricket Club youth section had another triumphant season in 2008, with both the oldest and the youngest teams having the most overall success.The Under-17s won their league without losing a fixture, and were denied the cup outright when the final against Claverham was cancelled twice due to the weather. The Under-11 Wizards also won their division without losing a game except to the weather, and like the 17s were denied winning the league outright due to the weather cancelling the play-off, also against Claverham.This meant that the Under-17s and Under-11 Wizards shared the Youth Team of the Year Trophy at the recent presentation night, where the trophies were presented by captain John Williams, and WEPL chairman Chris Norton.Max Gregory won both the batting and bowling trophies for the Under-11 Wizards, and his Wonders compatriots were Ben Evans and Archi Singhal. The two most improved players were Jack Hughes (Wizards) and Alex Harper (Wonders), while the managers players were Henry Court (Wizards) and Arun Stephens (Wonders).Luke Flannigan (bowler and manager's player) and Elliott Griffiths (batsman and player's player) impressed in the Under-13 Wonders, while the Wizards trophies went to Jack Luff (batsman), Dom Mayo (bowler), Dan Toogood (player's player) and Peter Hooper (manager's player).Billy Fear was highlighted as an important member of the Under-15 Wizards, being awarded both the bowling and the player's player trophy, with Joe Gadd (batsman) and Flo Broderick (manager's player) rounded things off, whilst Sam Poole (batsman), Sam McCrae (bowler), Tom Gooding (player's player) and Bradley Ashfield (manager's player) took the kudos for the Wonders team.Mitch Smit easily walked away with the Under-17s batsman trophy, and it was no surprise that Tom Court stole the limelight winning both the bowler and the player's player awards, with Ben Dancey rounding off proceedings by being named the manager's player.The last trophy of the evening was the Youth Clubman of the Year, it was a unanimous decision that this accolade should be presented to two parents, Sandra Turner and Richard Turner who had helped over the previous eight years, taking various roles including coach, scorer, umpire, taxi driver and reporter.All the coaches and managers were thanked for all their hard work over another rain affected but successful season, and the parents were reminded that more help is always needed.Training for the 2009 season for both boys and girls is well under way and matches start shortly, please contact secretary Neil Crocker on 01934 515977 for more details.

You may also want to watch:

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus