YATTON

Saturday, June 22, 2019

A youth club was shocked and delighted to be rewarded with crucial funding to help it support village children.

Thursday, June 20, 2019

A roof to cover the bridge at Yatton Railway Station has been named as one of the priorities for the village this year.

Read more
Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Plans for a new £5million primary school have been altered to protect a Roman burial ground, but critics have slated the 'horrendous' look of the proposed building.

Read more
Saturday, June 15, 2019

Councillors - for a third time - are set to debate the merits of a housing plan in Yatton which would change an orchard on the edge of the village forever.

Read more
Tuesday, June 11, 2019

School pupils have taken part in a competition to design bird boxes.

Read more
Wednesday, June 5, 2019

A celebration will be held to mark 20 years of tidying the gardens at Yatton Railway Station.

Read more
Tuesday, June 4, 2019

A £4.9million primary school will join a growing multi-academy trust when it opens to reception pupils next year.

Read more
Monday, May 27, 2019

Dozens of homes could be built next to a new primary school.

Read more
Sunday, May 26, 2019

DoubleTree by Hilton, Cadbury House wants to build an extra car park to host the hundreds of staff who work on site.

Read more
Sunday, May 19, 2019

Somerset is known for its cider, but there is also a thriving array of pubs serving traditional real ales. Weston and the surrounding areas has plenty of boozers which have been accredited by the Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA).

Read more
Tuesday, April 16, 2019

Plans to build a road through a historic orchard linking to a new housing development have been delayed again.

Read more
Sunday, April 14, 2019

The Easter school holidays have arrived and pupils were busy in the lead up to it by taking part in a competition.

Read more
Saturday, April 13, 2019

Planning permission is being sought to increase the size of a roundabout in Yatton - only a couple of years after it was made bigger.

Read more
Friday, April 12, 2019

Villagers in Yatton have voted overwhelmingly in favour of adopting a neighbourhood plan.

Read more
Thursday, April 11, 2019

A third Weston Hospicecare shop has been broken into within the past two months, causing thousands of pounds in damage.

Read more
Friday, March 22, 2019

Everything from arts and crafts and blooming bouquets were on show at the weekend in Yatton.

Read more
Wednesday, March 13, 2019

A 'fantastic' barn dance raised vital funds for a community café on Saturday evening.

Read more
Wednesday, March 13, 2019

A new housing development should be permitted in Yatton, but only if homes are not built on an orchard after critics said the village would be 'betrayed' if it was sacrificed.

Read more
Thursday, March 7, 2019

Children got to experiment with arts and crafts at a fun-filled session on Sunday afternoon.

Read more
Friday, March 1, 2019

Parents will get to learn more about plans for a new school in Yatton next week.

Read more
Saturday, February 2, 2019

Burials will not be allowed at a new cemetery because they would cost taxpayers too much money.

Read more
Thursday, January 31, 2019

A school's commitment to promote health and wellbeing has landed it an award.

Read more
Friday, January 25, 2019

Tickets are selling fast ahead of a pantomime next week.

Read more
Sunday, December 23, 2018

A nature group is asking for households to help out with a wildlife survey.

Read more
Friday, November 30, 2018

Pupils, parents and grandparents enjoyed a festive family fair at the weekend.

Read more
Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Children as young as 12 have been caught running on the roof of a derelict factory and trespassing in the collapsing building.

Read more
Monday, November 19, 2018

Drivers are having to take life-endagering risks due to high speeds in Yatton High Street, according to campaigners.

Read more
Saturday, November 17, 2018

A GP practice has agreed to improve safety for its patients in a bid to get the go-ahead to build a surgery.

Read more
Saturday, November 17, 2018

A GP practice has agreed to improve safety for its patients in a bid to get the go-ahead to build a surgery.

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Hard-working sailing volunteers from Clevedon and Yatton will have a royal appointment this week to recognise decades of service.

Read more
Friday, November 9, 2018

The 'best sports bar in the area' is the target a railway pub has set itself as work to overhaul its interior began this week.

Read more
Sunday, November 4, 2018

'Major concerns' over plans for a new GP surgery must be resolved before North Somerset Council will accept the scheme.

Read more
Sunday, November 4, 2018

Five decades of providing assistance to the community has been celebrated by one of North Somerset's most popular charitable groups.

Read more
Saturday, November 3, 2018

A tasty Sunday lunch was served up at the weekend to mark the reformation of Yatton's Royal British Legion branch.

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

On the weekend the clocks went back, it was appropriate there was an autumnal feel to Yatton's big event on Saturday.

Read more
Sunday, October 28, 2018

Warehouses will be built near new homes in Yatton, if North Somerset Council gives the go-ahead.

Read more
Saturday, October 27, 2018

Archaeologists have begun further investigation of a site once believed to have been inhabited by Romans.

Read more
Saturday, October 20, 2018

A preschool will shut in Yatton at the end of the month as a lack of funding means it can no longer afford to go on.

Read more
Wednesday, October 17, 2018

More than £650,000 has been promised by North Somerset Council to increase the amount of affordable housing available.

Read more
Saturday, October 13, 2018

Lucky charities and schools have received vital funds thanks to the endeavours of Yeo Valley Lions.

Read more
Sunday, October 7, 2018

The owners of a village farm say they have received a good response about their potential plans to sell land for housing development.

Read more
Friday, September 28, 2018

Yatton's Royal British Legion branch will soon relaunch.

Read more
Sunday, September 2, 2018

Several events are planned in Yatton over the coming months to mark 100 years since the end of World War One.

Read more
Friday, August 31, 2018

One of the biggest housing developments planned for Claverham in many years will be debated next week.

Read more
Thursday, August 30, 2018

A third would-be bidder has emerged keen to run Yatton's new school once it opens almost two years from now.

Read more
Sunday, August 19, 2018

A second bidder keen to run a new primary school will unveil its plans at a public event next month.

Read more
Saturday, August 11, 2018

A village rugby club which has been running for 50 years faces a difficult future if the club does not sell to a housing developer, according to its chairman.

Read more
Monday, August 6, 2018

Plans for a new GP surgery are being altered to make it look 'more rural'.

Read more
Sunday, August 5, 2018

School pupils in Yatton enjoyed a sporty treat before the summer holidays began.

Read more
Friday, July 27, 2018

Two men will represent Yatton with a World War One-inspired pilgrimage to France and Belgium.

Read more

Most Read News

Read Online

Image
Read the Weston Worle and Somerset Mercury e-edition E-edition

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 20°C

min temp: 16°C

Useful Links

Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Subscribe to the paper
Competitions
Send Your Letters
Order Photos
Family notices
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Newsletter Sign Up

Weston Mercury twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists