NORTH SOMERSET

Friday, July 10, 2020

No more cases of coronavirus have been recorded in North Somerset over the last 24 hours, official figures show.

Friday, July 10, 2020

Country Court care and nursing homes have been declared Covid-19-free after tests on staff and residents.

Read more
Thursday, July 2, 2020

A 30-year-old man from Weston has been charged with murder following the death of Mikhail Hanid.

Read more
Thursday, July 2, 2020

North Somerset Council has reopened its Small Business Grants Discretionary Fund.

Read more
Wednesday, July 1, 2020

A detailed plan revealing how North Somerset will respond if a local outbreak of coronavirus occurs has been published.

Read more
Sunday, June 21, 2020

Weston Coastguard saw its call-outs double during the sunniest and driest May on record in comparison with last year.

Read more
Friday, June 19, 2020

Schools across the area are preparing to reopen to select year groups after being closed to the vast majority of students since March due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Read more
Thursday, June 18, 2020

The number of people claiming unemployment benefits nearly doubled in the district in May compared with the month prior, figures reveal.

Read more

No more cases of coronavirus have been recorded in North Somerset, the latest official figures show.

Read more
Saturday, June 13, 2020

Hospitality and leisure businesses are preparing to reopen in July.

Read more
Thursday, June 11, 2020

Community groups in North Somerset can claim a share of a health and wellbeing fund worth £360,000.

Read more

Deaths in North Somerset were more than 50 per cent higher in April than usual levels as the coronavirus pandemic took hold, official figures show.

Read more
Friday, June 5, 2020

The South West is the only region in the UK with a predicted increase in coronavirus cases.

Read more
Thursday, May 28, 2020

A mother who lost her daughter at just 17 days old has raised £2,000 for the doctors and nurses who took care of her in her final days.

Read more
Saturday, May 23, 2020

The Quartet Community Foundation has raised more than £1million for the Coronavirus 2020 Response Fund.

Read more
Wednesday, May 13, 2020

Eight more coronavirus cases have been diagnosed in North Somerset, bringing the total up to more than 300 in the area.

Read more
Tuesday, May 12, 2020

A virtual marathon to support vulnerable people during the coronavirus pandemic and beyond has been launched by North Somerset Samaritans.

Read more
Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) is urging people to shine a light for nurses on International Nurses Day tonight (Tuesday).

Read more
Monday, May 11, 2020

Key workers can borrow a bicycle for up to three months for free in the district, thanks to North Somerset Council.

Read more
Sunday, April 19, 2020

A national voucher scheme has been launched to provide free school meals.

Read more
Monday, March 16, 2020

Labourers, bar staff, lorry drivers, receptionists and care workers are nearly twice as likely to smoke compared with people in different careers in the district.

Read more
Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Villagers in North Somerset have hit back at ‘depressing’ plans devised by developers putting ‘profit over the community’.

Read more
Friday, March 6, 2020

A Weston man contracted sepsis after failing to get a doctor’s appointment despite calling his surgery 160 times.

Read more
Wednesday, February 26, 2020

A planning application to demolish a long-standing Winscombe landmark is in the works and could be approved.

Read more
Thursday, February 13, 2020

A Burns Night supper and dance was enjoyed in Kingston Seymour at the weekend.

Read more
Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Weston’s Grand Pier has been awarded first place in the Outstanding Contribution to Tourism category at the Weston Business Awards.

Read more
Friday, February 7, 2020

A yellow weather warning for wind has been issued for North Somerset this weekend.

Read more
Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Avon and Somerset Constabulary invited Mercury reporter Lily Newton-Browne to join its officers on a police ride around Weston, to talk about the type of incidents they face over Christmas and all year round

Read more
Thursday, January 2, 2020

England cricket player Jos Buttler, who grew up in Wedmore, alongside a former mayor, an assistant to North Somerset MP Dr Liam Fox and a police officer, have all received MBEs.

Read more
Sunday, December 15, 2019

Bus services in Weston and Worle will change from next month.

Read more
Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Striking pictures of beautiful North Somerset coastlines have been taken by Midweek readers for iWitness24/7.

Read more
Monday, September 9, 2019

Campaigners fought against Bristol Airport’s expansion through a protest.

Read more
Monday, September 9, 2019

People savoured the warm summer’s weather at Weston Rugby Club’s fun day.

Read more
Tuesday, July 23, 2019

A new website where people can anonymously report the sale of illegal tobacco has been launched by Trading Standards South West.

Read more
Tuesday, July 2, 2019

Men and women are living healthier lives for longer than across other parts of the UK, new figures have revealed.

Read more
Saturday, May 25, 2019

Figures from Public Health England reveal rates of vomiting, diarrhoea, gastroenteritis and flu all fell in the region for a week this month.

Read more
Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Yatton and Congresbury Wildlife Action Group (YACWAG) saw scores of people flock to Stowey Reserve to celebrate the organisation’s 20th anniversary event.

Read more

Most Read News

Read Online

Image
Read the Weston Worle and Somerset Mercury e-edition E-edition

Useful Links

Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Subscribe to the paper
Competitions
Send Your Letters
Order Photos
Family notices
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24