SOMERSET

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

A former mayor is set to cycle more than 200 miles to raise funds for hovercraft charity, BARB Search & Rescue.

Friday, July 17, 2020

Public Health England officials have given advice to businesses on how to react to a positive or suspected Covid-19 case in a Somerset town.

Read more
Friday, July 10, 2020

A second pub in a seaside town has shut after a customer tested positive for coronavirus.

Read more
Friday, July 10, 2020

Country Court care and nursing homes have been declared Covid-19-free after tests on staff and residents.

Read more
Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Plans to create a permanent community shop in a Somerset village have prevailed.

Read more
Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Police have charged a man from Highbridge with the murder of Paul Wells.

Read more
Tuesday, June 23, 2020

A town has pedestrianised its high street in a bid to attract people to shop locally to help its economy recover from the impact of Covid-19.

Read more
Thursday, June 11, 2020

Shops across Sedgemoor are getting ready to reopen to the public next week.

Read more
Thursday, May 28, 2020

A mother who lost her daughter at just 17 days old has raised £2,000 for the doctors and nurses who took care of her in her final days.

Read more
Sunday, May 24, 2020

A council is warning owners of buildings used by the public to service their water and air conditioning systems before re-opening.

Read more
Sunday, May 10, 2020

Almost 80 homes have been left without power in a Somerset town this afternoon (Sunday).

Read more
Tuesday, April 28, 2020

The Kings of Wessex Academy has appointed a new headteacher.

Read more
Thursday, April 23, 2020

A kid goat has been rescued from the side of a cliff at Cheddar Gorge.

Read more
Wednesday, April 22, 2020

A Somerset MP has urged tourists not to visit the district due to coronavirus lockdown measures ‘for the time being’.

Read more
Tuesday, March 17, 2020

Police are appealing for witnesses to a road traffic collision after a driver fled the scene.

Read more
Monday, March 16, 2020

The first stages of a campaign for a safe walkway and cycle route between a village and town have been given the green light after years of campaigning efforts.

Read more
Monday, February 3, 2020

North Somerset Wildlife crime officer PC Pete Wills has completed his month on the job.

Read more
Wednesday, January 15, 2020

A path connecting a Somerset town and village has been transformed after months of fundraising efforts in both communities.

Read more
Thursday, January 9, 2020

People are being encouraged to complete a survey which will determine the way Somerset tackles climate change in the future.

Read more
Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Dedicated villagers have raised £25,000 to save a ‘vital’ shop from closure.

Read more
Monday, September 2, 2019

Vandals broke into a supermarket and stole cigarettes in the early hours of this morning (Monday).

Read more
Saturday, August 17, 2019

Dog lovers from around the county entered their pet into a village show to compete for sought-after prizes at the weekend.

Read more
Thursday, August 15, 2019

A council is warning people to avoid the latest barrage of cold calls made by tax-scammers targeting people in the area.

Read more
Friday, July 19, 2019

A jam-packed family fun day offering visitors 50 free activities will be held in Highbridge next month, after a council donated a four-figure sum.

Read more
Saturday, June 22, 2019

Applications to enter the Somerset County Guy Fawkes Carnival circuit open next week.

Read more

Read Online

Image
Read the Weston Worle and Somerset Mercury e-edition E-edition

Useful Links

Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Subscribe to the paper
Competitions
Send Your Letters
Order Photos
Family notices
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24