General Election candidates announced for Weston

PUBLISHED: 17:14 14 November 2019 | UPDATED: 10:47 15 November 2019

Voters will go to polling stations on December 12.

Voters will go to polling stations on December 12.


The parliamentary candidates that will stand for election in the Weston-super-Mare constituency have been confirmed.

John Penrose will stand again for the Conservative Party, a seat he has held since 2005.

Blagdon and Churchill ward councillor Patrick Keating will represent the Liberal Democrats, replacing Mike Bell who stood in 2017.

Weston MP John Penrose. Picture: Mark AthertonWeston MP John Penrose. Picture: Mark Atherton

For the Labour Party, Weston town councillor Tim Taylor was again named its parliamentary candidate, having previously stood in the last two General Elections.

For the Green Party, Suneil Basu will stand in Weston for the second successive election campaign.

Tim Taylor.Tim Taylor.

The Brexit Party had declared Ann Tarr as its candidate, but its leader Nigel Farage has since confirmed the party will not stand in Conservative constituencies.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson called a snap General Election to take place on December 12.

Patrick Keating. Picture: Liberal DemocratsPatrick Keating. Picture: Liberal Democrats

Mr Johnson hopes the vote will give him a fresh mandate for his deal for the UK to leave the European Union (EU) and break the deadlock in Parliament.

Electors will be able to vote in polling stations from 7am-10pm on December 12. To register to vote, click here.

Suneil Basu.Suneil Basu.

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Weston Mercury

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists